The Slamdance Film Festival has tapped 13 independent film veterans to serve as jury members for its competition lineup.

“We are thrilled to have such independent filmmaking revolutionaries judging for our 20th Anniversary’s diverse slate of films,” said Peter Baxter, president and co-founder. “These exemplary jurors have embraced our motto of being a film festival ‘by filmmakers, for filmmakers.'”

The festival, launched two decades ago as an alternative to Sundance, will take place Jan. 17-23 in Park City, Utah at the Treasure Mountain Inn.

Jurors include Tom Hall, director of the Sarasota Film Festival;  Matt Harrison, whose producing credits include “Kicked In The Head” and “Rhythm Thief”;  Katie Mustard, producer of “The Console Wars,” “We’ll Never Have Paris,” “Shelter” and “The World Made Straight”; Alamo Drafthouse CEO Tim League; Herb Stratford, programming director at the Napa Valley Film Festival; inter-media artist Monteith McCollum and Andrew Edison, whose “Bindlestiffs” won the Audience Award at the 2012 Slamdance festival.

Other jurors include David Greenspan, editor and director for “Grey’s Anatomy”; Lise Raven, whose feature film “Kinderwald’ is playing out of competition as the closing night film at Slamdance;  Jacques Thelemaque, co-president of FA Productions (“The Dogwalker”);  Kendall Shanks, who created the characters for the stop motion film “Wiggle Room”; Joey Shanks, whose short film “Sci-Fly” screened at Slamdance last year; and filmmaker Skizz Cyzyk, who is in his 18th year as a Slamdance projectionist.

The competition lineup — which includes 11 world premieres, four North American premieres, and one U.S. premiere — was selected from more than 5,000 submissions. All competition films are feature film directorial debuts with budgets of less than $1 million and without U.S. distribution.

The fest has included showings of such notable titles as Oren Peli’s “Paranormal Actvity,” Marilyn Argrelo’s “Mad Hot Ballroom” and Seth Gordon’s “The King of Kong: A Fistful of Quarters.” Slamdance alumni include Christopher Nolan, Marc Forster, Jared Hess, Lena Dunham, Benh Zeitlin and Lynn Shelton.