Schamus to Head Jury at Berlin Film Festival

Jury includes Christoph Waltz, Barbara Broccoli, Greta Gerwig, Michel Gondry

James Schamus on Oscar Voting
Jemal Countess/Getty Images

LONDON — American screenwriter, producer and former Focus Features chief James Schamus will serve as prexy of the international jury at the Berlin Film Festival.

The other members of the jury, which will pick the winners of the Golden Bear and Silver Bears, will be Austrian actor Christoph Waltz, 007 producer Barbara Broccoli, Danish actress Trine Dyrholm, Iranian filmmaker Mitra Faharani, American thesp-scribe Greta Gerwig, French filmmaker Michel Gondry and Hong Kong-born thesp Tony Leung Chiu-wai.

Schamus’ credits include “Brokeback Mountain,” “The Wedding Banquet,” which won the Golden Bear in 1993, “The Ice Storm,” “Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon” and “Lust, Caution.”

As head of Focus Features, he backed such pics as “Far from Heaven,” “Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind,” “Lost in Translation,” “Milk,” “Dallas Buyers Club” and “The Kids Are All Right,” which won Berlin’s Teddy Award.

Waltz’s credits include “Inglourious Basterds,” “Carnage” and “Django Unchained.” He can next be seen in Terry Gilliam’s “The Zero Theorem” and Tim Burton’s “Big Eyes.”

Leung is one of the most popular actors in Chinese cinema. He has appeared in several films helmed by Wong Kar Wai, most recently “The Grandmaster,” which was the opening film of the 2013 Berlinale.

Gerwig has become a figurehead of American indie filmmaking through roles in pics like Noah Baumbach’s “Greenberg,” which played in competition at the Berlinale. Last year, the two of them returned to Berlin with the comedy “Frances Ha,” which was a favorite of Panorama audiences.

Gondry’s credits include “Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind” and “Mood Indigo.”

Broccoli, together with Michael G. Wilson, has produced all the James Bond pics since “GoldenEye.”

Dyrholm most recently starred in Susanne Bier’s films “In a Better World” and “Love Is All You Need.”

Farahani, who lives in Paris, won the Teddy Award at the 2001 Berlinale with documentary short film “Just a Woman.” Her feature docus “Tabous — Zohre & Manouchehr” and “Fifi Howls from Happiness” both premiered in Berlin’s Panorama section.