You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

Kiarostami To Preside Cannes’ Cinefondation and Short Film Jury

Noemie Lvovsky, Daniela Thomas, Mahamat-Saleh Haroun and Joachim Trier make up its members

Cannes Film Festival

PARIS – Renowned Iranian director Abbas Kiarostami will preside the Cannes Festival’s Cinefondation and Short Films jury, whose other members are French hyphenate Noemie Lvovsky and three directors: Brazil’s Daniela Thomas, Chad’s Mahamat-Saleh Haroun and Norway’s Joachim Trier.

The Jury will announce its Cinefondation Selection prizes on Thursday, May 22, and Cannes’ best short the following Saturday.

A seminal director who broke through with the 1987-1994 “Koker Trilogy,” and won Cannes’ Palme d’Or with 1997’s “Taste of Cherry,” Kiarostami was instrumental in helping to convince established film industry that not just good but great directors could come from any part of the world, which is much the spirit of the Cinefondation where 15 to 20 shorts and medium-length films – chosen from more than 1,600 applications – from students at film schools in 41 countries spread over the planet compete for its First, Second and Third prizes at the Cinefondation Selection.

Having won, many young directors go on to compete in more major sections in and out of the Cannes Selection.

The Cinefondation Jury was presided in 2013 by Jane Campion.

All of its 2014 members have, like Kiarostami, received plaudits at Cannes. A director, actress and screenwriter on movies from Valeria Bruni Tedeshi, Arnaud Desplechin and Philippe Garrel, Lvovsky helmed “Camille Rewinds,” which won the top SACD prize at Cannes 2012’s Directors’ Fortnight.

“Linha de passe,” Thomas’ third movie co-directed with Walter Salles after “Foreign Land” and “Midnight,” won best actress for Sandra Corveloni at Cannes in 2008.

Haroun’s “A Screaming Man” scooped a Cannes Jury Prize in 2010; Trier’s second feature, “Oslo, 31. August,” about a recovering drug adduct, played to applause in Cannes’ 2011 Un Certain Regard.