LONDON — Twenty-four up-and-coming European producers have been selected to take part in European Film Promotion’s networking platform Producers on the Move at the Cannes Film Festival.

The event, which runs May 17-19, aims to help the producers work together to push forward projects. The program receives coin from the European Union’s Media Program and the EFP member organizations.

The schedule of the event includes working sessions, one-to-one speed-dating meetings and other opportunities to exchange knowledge and discuss future projects.

EFP is teaming up with TV channel ARTE and pan-European co-production fund Eurimages for the event. For the first time, Eurimages has prepared a case study exclusively for EFP’s program to be discussed under the direction of Eurimages executive director Roberto Olla.

EFP said that 17 co-productions are in development following last year’s Producers on the Move program. One recent success story is the coming-of-age feature “The Word,” directed by Anna Kazejak and co-produced by two producers from the 2011 event, Lukasz Dzieciol (Opus Film, Poland) and Jesper Morthorst (SF Film Production, Denmark). The film premiered at the Berlinale in the Generation sidebar.

Currently in post is “Dirk Ohm — The Illusionist Who Disappeared,” directed by Bobbie Peers. The producer Maria Ekerhovd (Mer Film, Norway) joined forces for the film with her Producers on the Move colleague from 2011, Gian-Piero Ringel (Neue Road Movies, Germany), and Lizette Jonjic (Migma Film, Sweden), who joined the 2010 Producers on the Move event.

Ekerhovd and Ringel also worked together for two further projects: “Every Thing Will Be Fine” by Wim Wenders, and “Cathedrals of Culture,” which was presented at the Berlinale.

The following producers were selected by EFP member organizations:

Country, Producer, Prod. co., EFP member organization
Bulgaria: Maya Vitkova, Viktoria Films (“Viktoria” by Maya Vitkova), Bulgarian National Film Center
Croatia: Vanja Jambrovic, Restart (“Gangster of Love” by Nebojsa Slijepcevic), Croation Audiovisual Center
Czech Republic: Tomas Hruby, Nutprodukce (“Burning Bush” by Agnieszka Holland), Czech Film Center
Denmark: Eva Jakobsen, Nimbus Film (“Antboy” by Ask Hasselbalch), Danish Film Institute
Finland: Mark Lwoff, Bufo (“Concrete Night” by Pirjo Honkasalo), Finnish Film Foundation
France: Mathias Rubin, Recifilms (“Mobius” by Eric Rochant), UniFrance
Georgia: Tinatin Kajrishvili, Gemini (“Brides” by Tinatin Kajrishvili), Georgian National Film Center
Germany: Henning Kamm, Detailfilm (“The Special Need” by Carlo Zoratti), German Films
Greece: Konstantin Kontovrakis, Heretic Creative Producer (“Standing Aside, Watching” by Yorgos Servetas), Greek Film Center
Hungary: Eszter Gyarfas, Proton Cinema (“Land of Storms” by Adam Csaszi), Magyar Filmunio/Hungarian National Film Fund
Iceland: Arni Filippusson, Mystery (“Metalhead” by Ragnar Bragason), Icelandic Fim Center
Ireland: John Keville, SP Films (“You’re Ugly Too” by Mark Noonan), Irish Film Board
Italy: Olivia Musini, Cinemaundici (“Black Souls” by Francesco Munzi), Istituto Luce Cinecitta
Macedonia: Ognen Antov, Dream Factory Macedonia (“Monument to Michael Jackson” by Darko Lungulov), Macedonian Film Agency
Montenegro: Ivan Djurovic, Artikulacija Production (“The Ascent” by Nemanja Becanovic), Ministry of Culture of Montenegro
Norway: Terez Hollo-Klausen, Anna Kron Film (“Totally True Love” by Anne Sewitsky), Norwegian Film Institute
Poland: Mikolaj Pokromski, Pokromski Studio (“Fuck For Forest” by Michal Marczak), Polish Film Institute
Portugal: Nuno Bernardo, BeActive Entertainment (“Collider” by Jason Butler) ICA I.P.
Slovak Republic: Matyas Prikler, MPhilms (“Slovakia 2.0” by 10 Slovak directors), Slovak Film Institute
Spain: Marta Velasco Aralan Films (“The Extraordinary Tale” by Jose Ortuno/Laura Alvea), ICAA
Sweden: Petter Lindblad, Snowcloud Films (“Beyond Beyond” by Esben Toft Jacobsen), Swedish Film Institute
Switzerland: Elodie Brunner, Box Productions (“Ate ver a luz” by Basil da Cunha), Swiss Films
The Netherlands: Harro van Staverden, Bijker Film & TV (“Secrets of War” by Dennis Bots), EYE International
U.K.: Tristan Goligher, The Bureau Film Company (“Weekend” by Andrew Haigh), British Council