The 26th annual Palm Springs International Film Awards will present “The Theory of Everything” star Eddie Redmayne with its Desert Palm Achievement Award for an actor at its upcoming awards gala.

“From ‘The Good Shepherd’ to ‘Les Miserables,’ Eddie Redmayne has proven himself an actor poised for greatness,” says Harold Matzner, chairman of the festival. “In ‘The Theory of Everything,’ as ALS-stricken scientist Stephen Hawking, Redmayne captivates his audience as he goes through a powerful physical transformation, from a healthy college student to a dependent wheelchair-bound middle-aged man, in what is truly a stunning performance.”

Each year the festival selects an actor and actress to receive the award. Past actor recipients include Jeff Bridges, Bradley Cooper, Daniel Day-Lewis, Matthew McConaughey and Sean Penn. In the years that they were honored, Bridges, Day-Lewis, McConaughey and Penn went on to win the Academy Award for best actor.

Hosted by Mary Hart, the gala will be held on Jan. 3 at the Palm Springs Convention Center.