WGA: Don’t You Love ‘Her’ Madly? (Analysis)

Writers alway like to add plot twists. The trophy to Billy Ray and “Captain Phillips” was a popular choice at the WGAW Saturday, but the talk of the room was the win for Spike Jonze’s “Her.” But maybe it shouldn’t have been a surprise. The Warner Bros. film is a quiet powerhouse; in private conversations, many Academy voters have singled it out as their favorite film.

The WGA original screenplay race is especially interesting because the five contenders are the same five cited by Oscar.

The adapted-screenplay win is certainly a boost for Ray and the Sony film but in Oscar terms, it comes with a footnote, since two strong Academy contenders were not WGA eligible: “Philomena” and “12 Years a Slave.”

As Jonze stated in his acceptance, “It’s a high honor coming from writers.” Peer recognition is incomparable. But at this time of year, every awards announcement includes the subtext “But what does this mean in terms of Oscar?”

The WGA has a fairly good track record at predicting the Academy Awards. In the past 19 years, WGA and Oscar matched 12 times in the original-screenplay race, 14 times in adapted.

Popular on Variety

But sometimes eligibility is a factor. Last year, Mark Boal won the WGA original screenplay prize for “Zero Dark Thirty,” but Quentin Tarantino took the Oscar for “Django Unchained,” which had been ineligible for WGA. (Chris Terrio won both for adapting “Argo.”)

The guild says that the only eligible scripts are ones produced under WGA jurisdiction or under a collective bargaining agreement in Canada, Ireland, New Zealand or the U.K. This year, the WGA declared more than a dozen high-profile scripts ineligible (Variety, Dec. 3).

Guild execs are adamant that their eligibility rules will remain in place, saying there are many reasons to keep them.

For the record, the identical WGA and Oscar nominations for original screenplay: David O. Russell and Eric Singer for “American Hustle” (which many had predicted would take WGA honors); Woody Allen, “Blue Jasmine” (his 21st nom); Craig Borten and Melisa Wallack, “Dallas Buyers Club”; Jonze, “Her”; and Bob Nelson, “Nebraska.”

In adapted screenplay, it was three for five. WGA nominated Richard Linklater, Julie Delpy and Ethan Hawke, “Before Midnight”; Ray, “Captain Phillips”;  Terence Winter, “The Wolf of Wall Street”; Tracy Letts, “August: Osage County”; and Peter Berg, “Lone Survivor.” Oscar also picked the first three, but instead of Letts and Berg, Oscar nominated John Ridley, “12 Years a Slave”; and Steve Coogan and Jeff Pope, “Philomena.” Those two films were WGA-ineligible because of guild rules.

For documakers, the WGA’s continued recognition is itself a triumph, acknowledging that documentaries are in fact written and not just “assembled.” Sarah Polley won the WGA honor for her docu “Stories We Tell.” It’s a well-deserved recognition, but not any omen since the film is not an Oscar contender.

Results were based on voting by the WGA’s 12,000 members. The event at the JW Marriott L.A. was theoretically held simultaneously with the WGA East event. But many in L.A. were reading tweets from New York because the winners were announced roughly an hour earlier there.

More Film


    Eugene Hernandez Named New York Film Festival Director

    Eugene Hernandez will take over as New York Film Festival director, replacing former chief Kent Jones who stepped down in September. Hernandez, who previously served as deputy director of the organization, will now be responsible for the strategic direction and leadership of the New York Film Festival and will serve on its selection committee. Film [...]

  • Chris-Brancato-Giancarlo-Esposito-Carole-Bouquet-and-Zabour-Breitman

    ‘The Luminaries,’ ‘The Eddy,’ ‘Patria’ Set for Series Mania

    PARIS  —  “Narcos” showrunner Chris Brancato and “Godfather of Harlem” star Giancarlo Esposito, actors Carole Bouquet and Zabou Breitman, and the cast and crew behind the Canal Plus series “The Bureau” will be among the many guest of honor at this year’s Series Mania, which will kick off its 11th edition on March 20. Returning to [...]

  • Jakob Mejlhede Andersen

    NENT Studios U.K. CEO Jakob Mejlhede Andersen Steps Down

    Jakob Mejlhede Andersen, the CEO of NENT Studios U.K., is stepping down from the business, which operates the Nordic region’s leading streamer Viaplay. Mejlhede was appointed CEO of NENT Studios U.K. in October 2019 and was previously executive VP and CCO for NENT Group’s Viaplay. He also held the role of executive VP and group [...]

  • A still from The Earth Is

    'The Earth is Blue as an Orange': Film Review

    “Everybody smile and say ‘cinema,'” young Myroslava Trofymchuk instructs several Ukrainian soldiers, as they obligingly pose and perform for her camera, their brawny tank reduced to a prop in the rubbly, wintry background. It’s the only time we see the masculine agents of conflict in “The Earth is Blue as an Orange,” a documentary with [...]

  • Editorial use only. No book cover

    Cannes to Celebrate Wong Kar-wai's 'In The Mood For Love'

    The Cannes Film Festival is to screen a restored version of Wong Kar-wai’s “In The Mood For Love,”  20 years after it first premiered on the Croisette. The festival will play a restored, 4K version of the timeless Hong Kong-set romance that starred Tony Leung Chiu-wai and Maggie Cheung as a journalist and a secretary [...]

  • Elvis Presley 1968 Comeback Special

    'Elvis: That's the Way It Is' Documentary Set for Re-Release (EXCLUSIVE)

    Trafalgar Releasing has set a re-release for the concert documentary “Elvis: That’s the Way It Is” for April 22 in 14 countries, Variety has learned exclusively. The event will mark the 50th anniversary of the film’s original release by MGM. Most of the remastered footage was shot at the International Hotel in Las Vegas with [...]

  • Blackhall Studios to Build Major Production

    Blackhall Studios to Build Major Production Facility in U.K.

    Blackhall Studios, the Atlanta-based production hub that has hosted several high-profile shoots in recent years, has signed an agreement with the University of Reading to develop its first U.K. facility. Due for completion in early 2022, the new studio will offer physical production stages alongside digital media facilities tailored for special effects, augmented reality and [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content