“Turning Tide,” which centers on the trials and tribulations of a sailor competing in a round-the-world solo yacht race, won the Audience Award at the 18th annual City of Lights, City of Angels film festival. The film, starring François Cluzet, represents the directorial debut of cinematographer-turned-helmer Christophe Offenstein, known for his work with Guillaume Canet (“Tell No One”).

The week-long French film showcase, held at the Directors Guild of America headquarters in Los Angeles and largely geared toward an industry audience, set a record attendance of nearly 20,000.

The other top winner was Hélier Cisterne’s “Vandal,” about a wayward juvenile who gets caught up with a gang of taggers, which was awarded COLCOA’s Critics Award, presided over by the Los Angeles Film Critics Association.

The Critics Special Prize was bestowed on François Dupeyron’s “One of a Kind,” about a working-class miracle worker played by the Cesar-nominated Gregory Gadebois.

Cédric Klapisch’s “Chinese Puzzle,” the last in a trilogy of films that began with “L’auberge espagnole,” claimed the Audience Special Prize. The film, which stars Romain Duris, Audrey Tautou and Cécile de France, also walked away with the Coming Soon Award, given in association with KPCC 89.3, to a film with an attached U.S. distributor (The Cohen Media Group).

The First Feature Award went to Guillaume Gallienne’s “Me, Myself and Mom,” which won a clutch of Cesars in February, including best film, adapted screenplay and actor (Gallienne).

An audience Special Mention was given to “For A Woman” from writer-director Diane Kurys, while the crtitics’ Special Mention was given to “The Rooftops,” from writer-director Merzak Allouache.

The Documentary Prize went to Jean-Albert Lièvre’s “Flore,” in which the filmmaker confronts his mother’s Alzheimer’s disease.

The Jury Short Film Award went to “The Run Away” (Jean-Bernard Marlin); the Short Film Jury Special Prize went to “Women’s Letters” (Augusto Zanovello); and a Short Film Jury Special Mention went to Adiano Valerio’s “37°4S.” In addition, Pierre Niney’s “The Audition” won the Audience Short Film Award.