N.Y. Film Critics Circle Stakes Out Early Awards Date

The New York Film Critics Circle will again kick off awards announcements by unveiling their choices Dec 1. The org’s awards dinner will be Monday, Jan. 5, at the Tao Downtown.

In making the announcement Tuesday, the org also pointed out the addition of Variety chief film critic Scott Foundas and Wesley Morris of Grantland to the circle.

The National Board of Review, which for years made the first announcement, will unveil its choices Dec. 2. In 2011, NYFCC moved up its announcement by two weeks, to be first out of the gate. They ended up delaying the vote by one day, to Nov. 29, to accommodate “The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo,” but voted without seeing “Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close.” The early announcements are always a factor since some filmmakers have not finished their late-year entries by that point.

The NYFCC and NBR announcements will be followed by a flurry of awards, culminating in the Feb. 22 Oscars.

Founded in 1935, the New York Film Critics Circle is the oldest in the country. Membership includes critics from daily and weekly newspapers, magazines and online publications. The org meets in New York to vote on awards for the calendar year’s films.

Popular on Variety

“I’m very happy to welcome Scott, chief film critic for the venerable Variety, and Wesley, a recent Pulitzer-prize winner,” stated chair Stephen Whitty in the announcement. “The very large number of applications we received this year testifies to the size and passion of today’s film-criticism community.”

The list of voting members: Melissa Anderson, Artforum; John Anderson, Variety/Newsday; Michael Atkinson, Village Voice; Dwight Brown, NNPA Syndication; Richard Corliss, Time; David Denby, The New Yorker; Karen Durbin, Elle; Bilge Ebiri, New York Magazine; David Edelstein, New York Magazine; Marshall Fine, The Star; Scott Foundas, Variety; Graham Fuller, Artinfo.com; Owen Gleiberman, BBC.com; Rafer Guzman, Newsday; Stuart Klawans, The Nation; Eric Kohn, Indiewire; Joe Morgenstern, Wall Street Journal; Wesley Morris, Grantland; Farran Smith Nehme, New York Post; Joe Neumaier, New York Daily News; Andrew O’Hehir, Salon.com; Nick Pinkerton, freelance; Peter Rainer, Christian Science Monitor; Rex Reed, New York Observer;  Joshua Rothkopf, Time Out New York; Richard Schickel, Truthdig.com; Kyle Smith, New York Post; Dana Stevens, Slate.com; Amy Taubin, Artforum; Peter Travers, Rolling Stone; Keith Uhlich, freelance;  Elizabeth Weitzman, New York Daily News; Stephen Whitty, the Star Ledger/NJ.com; Stephanie Zacharek, Village Voice.

More Film

  • Hillary Clinton'Hillary' Documentary, HULU, TCA Winter

    Variety Studio Returns to Sundance With Star-Studded Interviews

    Variety will return to the Sundance Film Festival with its annual interview studio in partnership with AT&T, held at the WarnerMedia Lounge on Main Street. The studio runs from Jan. 24 through Jan. 27 and will host the stars from this year’s buzziest premieres including Hillary Clinton (“Hillary”), Gloria Steinem (“The Glorias”), Lin-Manuel Miranda (“Siempre, [...]

  • Janicza Bravo

    Why 'Zola' Filmmaker Janicza Bravo Isn't Sweating the Sundance Premiere

    Writer-director Janicza Bravo is a officially Sundance veteran. “Zola” is her second feature to premiere and her fourth time showing work at the festival. And as a such, she’s taking all of the buzz around her film — based on the 148-Tweet stripper saga that went viral in 2015 — in stride. “I can’t wait [...]

  • Best Picture - 'Green Book'91st Annual

    Film vs TV? In Truth, They've Been Married for 70 Years

    In a prescient Variety column in 1978, reporter Jim Harwood talked about the blurring distinction (artistic and technical) between film and television. He wrote: “Is a ‘motion picture’ any less of an accomplishment if it’s beamed from Hollywood directly to a wall-sized screen in somebody’s home instead of being hauled in cans to something called [...]

  • Miss Americana Taylor Swift

    17 Buzziest Movies at Sundance, From Taylor Swift to Gloria Steinem

    Sundance Film Festival isn’t just a market for independent movies and a place to discover new talent — it’s also a barometer of current moods. In 2020, an election year, it’s not always easy to separate politics from art — and maybe it shouldn’t be, not at Sundance. Hillary Clinton will visit Park City to [...]

  • Emma Tillinger Koskoff

    'Irishman' Producer on Mega-Production Schedule: 'It Was Pretty Insane'

    The numbers for “The Irishman” are staggering: 108 shooting days, 117 locations, 319 scenes, 160 actors, in a story spanning 50 years. “I must say, it was no small feat,” laughs Emma Tillinger Koskoff, who is Oscar-nominated for the film, as well as for “Joker.” “Irishman” is the story of Frank Sheeran (Robert De Niro) [...]

  • Richard Curtis

    Wealthy Celebrities Call For Higher Taxes in Open Letter From World Economic Forum

    A group of wealthy celebrities and business people have signed an open letter calling on fellow billionaires and millionaires around the globe to support tax increases in an effort to alleviate growing economic disparity. Released on Thursday to coincide with the World Economic Forum in Davos, Switzerland, the letter states: “There are two kinds of [...]

  • Bombshell Movie

    Filmmakers Work to Reframe the 'Male Gaze'

    In the opening shot of Sofia Coppola’s “Lost in Translation” (2003), Scarlett Johansson is lying on a bed, back to the camera, shown in partial view, wearing underpants. In Ridley Scott’s “Blade Runner 2049” (2017) a banged-up Ryan Gosling stares up at a bone-thin, enormous nude projection of a woman. More recently, Jay Roach’s “Bombshell” [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content