The Motion Picture Sound Editors will honor director Darren Aronofsky with the Filmmaker Award at the MPSE’s annual Golden Reel Awards, the org announced Monday.

Aronofsky’s films include this year’s “Noah,” 2010’s “Black Swan” and 2000’s “Requiem for a Dream.” With the Filmmaker Award, the org seeks to celebrate “extraordinary filmmakers who embody the spirit, the vigor and innovation of storytelling.” Past honorees include Steven Spielberg and Ang Lee.

“One of the first reasons I was inspired to become a filmmaker was the exciting possibilities of experimenting with sound, so it is an incredible feeling to be honored by the MPSE,” Aronofsky said. “Sound dreams, sound emotes and, most importantly, sound is what often saves my ass.”

The MPSE’s 62nd annual Golden Reel Awards will take place February 15 at the Westin Bonaventure Hotel in Los Angeles.