CANNES – “Calvary,” “Byzantium” and “Philomena” were the biggest winners at the Irish Film and Television Awards in Dublin, with each film taking three awards.

Guests at the event, which was hosted by the Irish Film and Television Academy, included Michael Fassbender, Colin Farrell, Jamie Dornan, Steve Coogan, Will Forte, Jeremy Irons, Fionnula Flanagan, Brendan Gleeson, Neil Jordan, Amy Huberman, Colm Meaney, Jack Reynor, Killian Scott, Eva Birthistle and Victoria Smurfit.

“Calvary” took best film, along with actor for Brendan Gleeson and script for its writer-director John Michael McDonagh. “Philomena” won the award for international film and actress (for Judi Dench) along with costume design for Consolata Boyle. Philomena Lee, whose true life story inspired the film, was at the ceremony. Vampire horror “Byzantium’s” awards included director for Neil Jordan, actress for Saoirse Ronan, and makeup and hair.

Michael Fassbender took the award for film supporting actor for “12 Years a Slave.” Sinead Cusack took home the supporting actress accolade for her performance in the adaptation of John Banville’s “The Sea.”

The big television drama winner on the night was Northern Irish crime series “The Fall,” which collected the award for drama, actor for Jamie Dornan’s role as serial killer Paul Spector, and David Holmes for music. Dornan also collected the Irish Film Board Rising Star Award.

Crime drama “Love/Hate” took home two IFTAs on the night including supporting actor for Peter Coonan and Stuart Carolan, who won for TV script. Sky series “Moone Boy” was also a big winner, winning entertainment program and director drama/comedy for Ian Fitzgibbon. Eva Birthistle won the IFTA for actress TV for her role as the grieved mother in missing child-drama “Amber.” The supporting actress in TV award went to Michelle Fairley for her tragic finale season on HBO’s “Game of Thrones.”

Cinematographer PJ Dillon won the director of photography film/TV drama award for the Victorian-era period drama “Ripper Street,” while Emer Reynolds won the editing film/TV drama award for the feature documentary “Here Was Cuba,” which she also co-directed. Ronan Hill won the IFTA for sound film/drama for his work on “Game of Thrones.”

Anna Rodgers won the TV director IFTA for her sensitive portrayal of relationships and disability in “Somebody to Love.”

Ray Roantree won the editing television award for the political documentary “Looking After No.1,” and the sound TV award went to “John Sheahan: A Dubliner.”

In the factual categories, the feature documentary award was presented to “The Summit”; TV documentary was won by “The Disappeared”; factual program went to “Seamus Heaney – Postscript” and “Breach of Trust” received the IFTA for current affairs.

The IFTA for sport was awarded to “Paidi O Se – Ri an Pharoiste,” and other winners on the night included self-improvement series “Operation Transformation” (reality show), “1916: Seachtar Dearmadta” (Irish language), “The Octonauts” (children’s/youth), “The Last Days of Peter Bergmann” (Short Film) and “Tilly and Friends” (animation).

Irish President, Michael D. Higgins, received an honorary IFTA award for his outstanding contribution to the film and television industry.

11th Annual Irish Film and Television Awards
The winners in full:

Calvary (James Flynn, Chris Clark, Flora Fernandez Marengo, Octagon Films, Reprisal Films)

Director Film
Neil Jordan, Byzantium (Parallel Films and Number 9 Films)

Script Film
John Michael McDonagh, Calvary (Octagon Films and Reprisal Films)

Actor in a Lead Role Film
Brendan Gleeson, Calvary (Octagon Films and Reprisal Films)

Actress in a Leading Role Film
Saoirse Ronan, Byzantium (Parallel Films & Number 9 Films)

Actor in a Supporting Role Film
Michael Fassbender, 12 Years a Slave (Entertainment One)

Actress in a Supporting Role Film
Sinead Cusack, The Sea (Samson Films)

George Morrison Feature Documentary
The Summit

International Film

International Actor
Chiwetel Ejiofor, 12 Years a Slave

International Actress
Judi Dench Philomena

TV Drama
The Fall (Stephen Wright, Allan Cubitt, BBC Northern Ireland, Artists Studio)

Director of a TV Drama
Ian Fitzgibbon, Moone Boy (Grand Pictures, Baby Cow Productions, Hot Cod Productions & Sprout Pictures for Sky 1)

Script for a TV Drama
Stuart Carolan, Love/Hate (Octagon Films)

Actor in a Leading Role (Television)
Jamie Dornan, The Fall (BBC Northern Ireland and Artists Studio)

Actress in a Leading Role Television
Eva Birthistle, Amber (Screenworks)

Actor in a Supporting Role (Television)
Peter Coonan, Love/Hate (Octagon Films)

Actress in a Supporting Role (Television)
Michelle Fairley, Game of Thrones (HBO)

Consolata Boyle, Philomena

Director of Photography Film/Drama
PJ Dillon, Ripper Street

Editing Film/Drama
Emer Reynolds, Here Was Cuba

Makeup & Hair

Production Design
Tom Conroy Vikings

Original Score
David Holmes, The Fall

Sound Film/Drama
Game of Thrones


Current Affairs
Breach of Trust (RTÉ)

The Disappeared

Documentary Series
John Lonergan’s Circus

Moone Boy

Seamus Heaney – Postscript – Imeall

Operation Transformation

Páidí Ó Sé – Rí an Pharóiste

Irish Language
1916 Seachtar Dearmadta

Director TV
Anna Rodgers, Somebody to Love

Director of Photography TV
Ronan Fox, John Sheahan: A Dubliner

Editing TV
Ray Roantree, Looking After No. 1

Sound TV
John Sheahan: A Dubliner

Short Film
The Last Days of Peter Bergmann

Tilly and Friends

Irish Film Board Rising Star
Jamie Dornan