Art Directors Guild Awards: ‘Her,’ ‘The Great Gatsby’ and ‘Gravity’ Score as Top Films

'Game of Thrones,' 'Behind the Candelabra' and 'Veep' win TV awards

Art Directors Guild Awards: 'Her,' 'The

“Her” (pictured) and production designer K.K. Barrett, “The Great Gatsby” and production designer Catherine Martin, and “Gravity” and production designer Andy Nicholson took top honors among feature films at the 18th annual Art Directors Guild Awards Saturday evening.

“Gatsby” won for period film, “Gravity” for fantasy film and “Her” for contemporary film.

In television, “Game of Thrones” and production designer Gemma Jackson won for one-hour single-camera series, “Behind the Candelabra” and production designer Howard Cummings took the trophy for television movie or miniseries, and the “Helsinki” episode of “Veep” and production designer Jim Gloster copped the prize for half-hour single-camera series.

Other TV trophies went to the pilot of “Battlestar Galactica: Blood and Chrome” and production designer Brian Kane for short format live-action series; the “Missionaries” episode of “Portlandia” and production designer Tyler Robinson for multi-camera, variety or unscripted series; and to “The 67th Annual Tony Awards” and production designer Steve Bass for awards, music or game shows.

Call of Duty: Ghosts – “Epic Night Out” and production designer Todd Cherniawsky took home the prize for commercial, PSA, promo and music video.

During the ceremony, which took place in front of 800 guild members and industry execs at the Beverly Hilton, Martin Scorsese received ADG’s Cinematic Imagery Award, presented by Leonardo DiCaprio and Jonah Hill, his stars on “The Wolf of Wall Street,” which is currently nominated for five Academy Awards, including best picture and best director.

Scorsese sang the praises of several art directors he worked with, including the late Henry Bumstead, Clint Eastwood’s longtime production designer, and Dane Ferretti, with whom Scorsese just finished scouting for their 10th collaboration. “You can’t separate cinema from production design,” he said.

ADG council chair John Shaffner presided over the ceremony. Comedian Owen Benjamin served as host, scoring points with his showmanship, musicianship and praise of the art department and its role in the success of movies and TV shows.

Production designer Rick Carter received ADG’s Lifetime Achievement Award, presented by Kohler, which created a special award for the occasion. The bathroom products and decor company was the presenting sponsor of the awards.

Other presenters included June Squibb, Julia Stiles, Elisabeth Rohm, Tricia Helfer, Katee Sackhoff, Joe Manganiello, Dennis Haysbert, Robert Forster, Frances Fisher, Jon Avnet, Bruce Davison and Bill Bohnert.

ADG president Mimi Gramatky and production designer Robert Stromberg also participated in the presentation. This year’s Hall of Fame inductees were Robert Clatworthy, Harper Goff and J. Michael Riva.

Dave Blass and Raf Lydon produced the awards.