51 Finalists Chosen for Student Academy Awards

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences has selected 41 students from 23 U.S. colleges and universities, and 10 students from foreign universities, as finalists in its annual Student Academy Awards competition.

The Student Academy Awards were established in 1972 to support filmmaking at the collegiate level. Past Student Academy Award winners have gone on to receive 46 Oscar nominations and have won or shared eight awards. They include John Lasseter, Pete Docter, Robert Zemeckis, Trey Parker and Spike Lee.

The finalists were chosen by four regional nominating committees (three domestic, one international). Screenings will be held in L.A. to determine winners, with voting done by AMPAS members who can attend.

Those voters will determine up to three films in each category, with gold, silver and bronze medals. The winners (but not their medal placements) will be announced this month. The winning students will be brought to Los Angeles for a week of industry activities and social events that will culminate in the awards ceremony on June 7, at 6 p.m., at the DGA Theater in Hollywood, at which time the  medalists’ placement will be revealed.

The finalists are (listed alphabetically by film title):

“Dreamers,” Joseph Dwyer, Boston University
“Entropic Apogee,” Bill Manolios, Art Institute of California – San Francisco
“Jaspa’ Jenkins,” Robert Carnilius, Columbia College Chicago
“Oscillate,” Daniel Sierra, School of Visual Arts, New York
“Passer Passer,” Louis Morton, University of Southern California
“Person,” Drew Brown and Ramona Ramdeen, The Art Institute of Jacksonville, Florida
“The Private Life of Fenfen,” Leslie Tai, Stanford University
“Staircases,” Steinar Bergoy Nedrebo, School of Visual Arts, New York

“Baxter,” Ty Coyle, Savannah College of Art and Design, Georgia
“Goodnight Boon,” Jeremy Jensen, New York University
“Higher Sky,” Teng Cheng, University of Southern California
“Marcel,” Eric Cunha and Seung Sung, School of Visual Arts, New York
“Owned,” Daniel Clark and Wesley Tippetts, Brigham Young University, Utah
“Roadkill Redemption,” Karl Hadrika, Ringling College of Art and Design, Florida
“Two Ghosts,” Amy Lee Ketchum, University of Southern California
“Umbra,” Pedro Jesus Atienzar Godoy, Pratt Institute, New York
“Yamashita,” Hayley Foster, Loyola Marymount University, California

“The Apothecary,” Helen Hood Scheer, Stanford University
“Eth“no”representation,” Ryan Metzler and Scott Kulicke, Occidental College, California
“Heel’d,” Thomas Smith and McKenna Hinkle, Villanova University, Pennsylvania
“Light Mind,” Jie Yi, School of Visual Arts, New York
“My Sister Sarah,” Elizabeth Chatelain, University of Texas at Austin
“One Child,” Zijian Mu, New York University
“Punches & Pedicures,” Ashley Brandon and Dennis Höhne, Wright State University, Ohio
“Scattered,” Lindsay Lindenbaum, School of Visual Arts, New York
“White Earth,” J. Christian Jensen, Stanford University

“AM800,” James Roe, University of New Orleans
“Above the Sea,” Keola Racela, Columbia University, New York
“Door God,” Yulin Liu, New York University
“Interstate,” Camille Stochitch, American Film Institute, California
“Istifa (Resignation),” Rahat Mahajan, Art Center College of Design, California
“So You’ve Grown Attached,” Kate Tsang, New York University
“Sweepstakes,” Mark Tumas, Temple University, Pennsylvania
“Way in Rye,” Goran Stankovic, American Film Institute, California
“What Remains,” Julie Koegl, University of North Carolina School of the Arts

Foreign Film
“Border Patrol,” Peter Baumann, The Northern Film School, United Kingdom
“Intruder,” Geun Buem Park, Korean Academy of Film Arts, South Korea
“Kam,” Katarina Morano, University of Ljubljana – Academy of Theatre, Radio, Film and Television, Slovenia
“Nocebo,” Lennart Ruff, University of Television and Film Munich, Germany
“North,” Philip Sheerin, National Film and Television School, United Kingdom
“Paris on the Water,” Hadas Ayalon, Tel Aviv University, Israel
“Sacred Defense,” Nima Mohaghegh, Netherlands Film Academy
“Souffle Court,” Johann Dulat, ENS Louis-Lumière – The National Film, Photography & Sound Engineering School, France
“The Oasis,” Carl Marott, The National Film School of Denmark
“Wo Wir Sind,” Ilker Çatak, Hamburg Media School, Germany

To reach this stage, U.S. students competed in one of three regional competitions. Each region is permitted to send to the Academy up to three finalists in each of the four categories. The Student Academy Awards Nominating Committee screened and voted on the finalists in the Foreign Film category.

The 41st Student Academy Awards ceremony on June 7 is free and open to the public, but advance tickets are required; tickets may be obtained at http://www.oscars.org or by mail. Any remaining tickets will be made available at the door.

Popular on Variety

More Film

  • Cat in the Wall Movie Sarajevo

    Sarajevo Film Festival Builds Bridges Through Art

    Rising from the rubble of the Bosnian War to become one of Southeastern Europe’s leading film and TV industry events, the Sarajevo Film Festival has plenty to celebrate as it marks its 25th edition this year. The festival was established in 1995 during the four-year siege of Sarajevo as part of an effort to help [...]

  • 'ZZ Top: That Little Ol' Band

    Film Review: 'ZZ Top: That Little Ol' Band From Texas'

    Settling in to watch “ZZ Top: That Little Ol’ Band From Texas,” you may have a burning question that applies to almost no other rock documentary, and that is: Who, exactly, are these guys? The ones behind the beards? If you’re old enough, of course, you probably know that ZZ Top started out, in 1969, [...]

  • Patricia Louisiana Knop Dead: Screenwriter Was

    Screenwriter Patricia Louisianna Knop Dies at 78

    Screenwriter Patricia Louisianna Knop, who collaborated with her producer-director husband Zalman King on erotically-charged films of the late 1980s and 1990s including “Siesta” and “9 1/2 Weeks,” died Aug. 7 in Santa Monica after a lengthy illness. “9 1/2 Weeks,” starring Mickey Rourke and Kim Basinger, was directed by Adrian Lyne, co-produced by King and [...]


    How 'Blinded by the Light' Brought Bruce Springsteen's Music to the Screen for a Song

    Blinded by the Light co-writer/director Gurinder Chadha knows firsthand what it feels like to be an outsider. Born in Kenya when the country was a British colony, she grew up part of the Indian/Asian diaspora who made their way from East Africa to London. For that reason, the 59-year-old’s movies has always dealt with the [...]

  • Studio Movie Grill Announces New Theater

    Studio Movie Grill Announces New Los Angeles-Area Dine-In Theater (EXCLUSIVE)

    The Studio Movie Grill circuit will open a new dine-in theater in the Glendale, Calif. Arts District, CEO Brian Schultz announced Friday. The new theater complex will be 60,000 square feet with 10 screens and will take the place of the former location of the MGN 5-Star Cinema, located near the Glendale Galleria, in the [...]

  • Saoirse Ronan and Timothée Chalamet in

    Fall Movie Preview 2019: From 'It: Chapter 2' to 'Little Women'

    Summer may be ending, but that doesn’t mean there will be a dearth of content at the multiplexes. On the contrary, studios are filling up theaters with Oscar-season content, popcorn fare and family films through the end of the year. From Greta Gerwig’s star-studded “Little Women” adaptation to the highly anticipated sequel to “It,” Variety [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content