“Predestination” narrowly topped “The Water Diviner” and “The Rover” in nominations for the 4th Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts (AACTA) Awards.

Directed by the Spierig brothers, “Predestination” collected nine nominations ahead of Russell Crowe’s eight for “The Water Diviner” and seven for David Michod’s “The Rover.”

The six best film nominations go to “The Babadook,” “Charlie’s Country,” “Tracks,” “The Railway Man,” “Predestination” and “The Water Diviner.”
The four best directing nominations went to Jennifer Kent for “The Babadook,” Rolf de Heer for “Charlie’s Country,” the Spierig brothers and Michod. While Crowe missed out on a directing nomination, he received a nod as best actor in his own film.

The Australian Broadcasting Corporation dominated the TV sections. Its drama series “The Code” scored 10 nominations, followed by its “Please Like Me,” with six nominations. Three of the ABC’s series – “The Broken Shore,” “Carlotta” and “Rake” series 3 tied for third place with five nominations each.

Winners will be revealed at two major events in Sydney in January: the 4th AACTA Awards Luncheon on Tuesday Jan. 27; and the 4th AACTA Awards ceremony on Thursday Jan. 29.