‘Gatsby’ Dominates AACTA Film Awards, ‘Power’ Charges TV

HONG KONG – “The Great Gatsby” collected a further six prizes Thursday at the Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts. They added to the seven technical category AACTA gongs it garnered on Tuesday.

The TV section was more competitive, with Nine Network’s “Power Games: The Packer-Murdoch Story” the standout.

“Gatsby” was named as best film, Baz Luhrmann collected the best feature director award and Luhrmann and Craig Pearce won for best adapted screenplay. Leonardo DiCaprio was named best actor while Joel Egerton and Elizabeth Debicki claimed prizes for best supporting roles.

DiCaprio was not on hand to collect his award, but Jacki Weaver was a star turn and collected the honorary AACTA Raymond Longford Award from Jack Thompson, David Michod and Bradley Cooper.

Marginalized by the “Gatsby” steam-roller, other films had to be content with crumbs. “The Rocket,” the Laos-set drama that was Australia’s foreign-language Oscar contender, and has collected awards around the world since its Berlin 2013 debut had 12 nominations, but only won in a single category, for Kim Mordaunt’s original screenplay. Rose Byrne claimed the best actress prize for her appearance in “The Turning.”

The television awards divided into four different sections according to genre and format. Todd Abbott’s ABC2 show Please Like Me,” won for ‘best television comedy or light entertainment series. Network Ten’s “Masterchef: The Professionals” won for best reality television series. Darren Dale and Miranda Dear’s ABC1 show “Redfern Now – Series 2” won for best television series. “Top Of The Lake” won for best telefeature or mini series.

“Power Games” won for best comedy/drama direction, best actor, for Lachy Hulme, and best guest or supporting actor in a TV drama, to Luke Ford.

More Film

  • Box Office Mojo new

    Box Office Mojo Site Transformed by IMDbPro

    BoxOfficeMojo.com has been transformed into an IMDbPro site, losing some of its free features. The Amazon-owned site, which had previously operated free of charge, was given a new look with its header reading “Box Office Mojo by IMDb Pro.” Information such as breakdowns by genre is now only available behind the IMDbPro paywall. The Box [...]

  • Editorial use only. No book cover

    'Hocus Pocus' Sequel in Development at Disney Plus

    Disney Plus has launched development of a sequel to 1993’s fantasy comedy “Hocus Pocus” with “Workaholics” writer and co-producer Jen D’Angelo on board to script. The original “Hocus Pocus” starred Bette Midler, Sarah Jessica Parker, and Kathy Najimy as a trio of witch sisters who have been cursed since 1693 in Salem, Ma. The witches [...]

  • Lady Gaga

    Variety Wins 2019 Eppy Award for Best Digital Magazine

    Variety has won two Eppy Awards from Editor & Publisher, including Best Digital Magazine and Best Collaborative Investigative/Enterprise Feature for “American (In)Justice” — a collaboration with fellow PMC property Rolling Stone. “American (In)Justice” also tied with USA Today’s “Copy, Paste, Legislate” collaboration with The Arizona Republic and the Center for Public Integrity. Variety has provided [...]

  • Joker Maleficent: Mistress of Evil

    Box Office: Villains Face Off Again as 'Joker' and 'Maleficent' Battle for First Place

    Despite three new nationwide releases, domestic box office charts look to be dominated by holdovers — Warner Bros.’ “Joker” and Disney’s “Maleficent: Mistress of Evil” — during the last weekend in October. “Maleficent: Mistress of Evil” debuted last weekend with $36 million in North America, enough to dethrone “Joker” after the super-villain origin story’s back-to-back [...]

  • Yasushi Shiina

    Tokyo Market is Finding New Strengths, Says Yasushi Shiina

    Clouds on the global economic horizon and disruption to the scheduling of the event, have done little to dampen the interest of foreign visitors to TIFFCOM, Japan’s biggest film and TV market. Especially those from China, says market head, Yasushi Shiina. The market is again running at the Sunshine City shopping, entertainment and business complex [...]

  • "Weathering With You" directed by Makoto

    Toho Unveils Dual Media Romance 'Love Me, Love Me Not' at Tokyo Market

    Japan’s biggest film company, which produces, distributes and exhibits its own product in partnership with leading media companies, Toho has brought a line-up to TIFFCOM full of present and future hits. The biggest is “Weathering with You,” the love story animation by Makoto Shinkai that surpassed the $100 million mark only a month after its [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content