TV Academy Awards Six Interactive Media Emmys

Emmys Backstage Placeholder
Frazer Harrison/Getty Images

The interactive media wing of the Television Academy handed out six juried awards for the 66th annual Emmy Awards at an event Wednesday at the Leonard H. Goldenson Theatre.

Outstanding Creative Achievement in Interactive Media is divided into four categories, two of which yielded more than one winner this year. The Interactive Media Peer Group recognizes excellence in innovation across TV and digital platforms.

“Discovery Channel’s Skywire Live with NikWallenda” took home the top prize for multiplatform storytelling.

Two winners were named in the user experience and visual design category: HBO was recognized for its “Game of Thrones Viewer Guide” but shared the winner’s circle with Comcast for its Xfinity platform on the distributor’s X1 set-top box.

The social TV experience category also yielded two winners: Pivot’s “Hit Record on TV” and National Geographic Channel’s “Live From Space.”

The only winner of the night that wasn’t a major TV channel or distributor was “Just a Reflektor,” an interactive short film in support of the Arcade Fire album “Reflektor,” from AATOAA, Unit 9 and Google Creative Lab.

Former IMPG co-governor Lori H. Schwartz was recognized with the Digerati Award, which was renamed the Lucy Hood Digerati Award to honor the memory of Hood, the former TV Academy president/COO who died earlier this year.

The event was hosted by Jessica St. Clair and Lennon Parham of USA’s “Playing House.” Also appearing were award presenters Nice Peter & EpicLLOYD (“Epic Rap Battles of History”), Harley Morenstein (“Epic Meal Time,”), and Yael Stone (“Orange Is The New Black”).

The statuettes for these  awards will be presented during the Creative Arts Emmy Awards next week. One award that will have to wait until then to be revealed is Outstanding Interactive Program. Nominees, which were showcased Wednesday, include Comedy Central series “@midnight”; HBO’s “Game of Thrones” premiere on Facebook and Instagram; NBC’s “The Tonight Show with Jimmy Fallon” Digital Experience, and NBC’s “The Voice” on

With 850 members, the IMPG is now the sixth largest peer group in the TV Academy. Co-governors are Seth Shapiro and Marc Johnson.


Filed Under:

Want to read more articles like this one? SUBSCRIBE TO VARIETY TODAY.
Post A Comment 1

Leave a Reply

1 Comment

Comments are moderated. They may be edited for clarity and reprinting in whole or in part in Variety publications.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More Digital News from Variety