Meryl Streep, Stevie Wonder Among President Obama’s Medal of Freedom Recipients

Meryl Streep
Ethan Miller/WireImage

Meryl Streep, Stephen Sondheim, Marlo Thomas, Tom Brokaw and Stevie Wonder are among the media and entertainment figures who will be honored with the Presidential Medal of Freedom, the White House announced on Monday.

The awards will be presented at the White House on Nov. 24.

Also being honored will be author Isabel Allende, writer and curator Suzan Harjo and, posthumously, choreographer Alvin Ailey .

Other recipients include physicist Mildred Dresselhaus, Rep. John Dingell (D-Mich.), Ethel Kennedy, Abner Mikva, former congresswoman Patsy Takemoto Mink, pro golfer Charles Sifford and economist Robert Solow. Also being honored posthumously are late congressman Edward Roybal, and James Chaney, Andrew Goodman and Michael Schwerner, the civil rights activists who were murdered at the outset of Freedom Summer in 1964.