You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

‘12 Years a Slave,’ Variety’s Justin Chang Feted At AAFCA Awards

It was a night of laughs and tributes to “12 Years a Slave,” “Lee Daniels’ The Butler,” “Fruitvale Station” and other pics at the fifth annual African-American Film Critics Assn. awards.

Variety chief film critic Justin Chang was also honored by the org with its inaugural Roger Ebert Award.

Top film kudos went to slavery drama “12 Years a Slave,” with “Frozen,” “Fruitvale Station,” docu “American Promise” and “Mother of George” also receiving awards. Acting nods were presented to Sandra Bullock, Forest Whitaker, Jared Leto and Oprah Winfrey.

AAFCA, founded in 2003, recognizes films with universal appeal to the African-American community and also honors the work of filmmakers and actors of African descent.

The event, held at the Taglyan Cultural Complex, marked the formal presentation of the awards after the winners were announced on Dec. 18. In addition to honoring the actors and films selected by the AAFCA, the org also presented special achievement kudos to AMPAS president Cheryl Boone Isaacs, DGA president Paris Barclay, Robert and Harvey Weinstein, Fox Searchlight SVP of production Zola Mashariki and Variety’s own chief film critic Justin Chang.

Other guests in attendance included “12 Years a Slave” screenwriter John Ridley, “Fruitvale Station” director Ryan Coogler, Robert Townsend, “Grey’s Anatomy” and “Scandal” creator Shonda Rhimes, GLAAD spokesman Wilson Cruz, Esai Morales, Niecy Nash and Wendy Raquel Robinson.

AAFCA founder and president Gil Robertson told the story of how the org first began after he received a call from longtime friend  and filmmaker Ava DuVernay while he was shopping in the meat section of a Whole Foods Market.

Hosts Orlando Jones and Salli Richardson-Whitfield then kicked things off on a light-hearted note as Jones joked, “I just want to clear up a few things. About four ladies walked up to me and asked me if I was the little boy from ‘Everybody Hates Chris’ and I want to be clear – I’m a grown man!”

Later in the evening, Chang was honored as the recipient of the inaugural Roger Ebert award, presented by the late film critic’s stepdaughter Sonia Evans.

“You don’t get a degree in film criticism,” Evans said. “It’s a gift, a passion for expressing a love for an art form that few are fortunate to have – and get paid for.”

Chang, who cited Ebert as one of his own influences as a film critic, has spent nearly a decade pursuing this passion at Variety.

“Roger really stood for diversity,” Chang said. “He was a voice and an advocate and he did it effortlessly and with great sensitivity and grace.

Chang also got a laugh from the audience as he remarked “I’m probably the first Asian-American critic receiving an award named after a white critic from an African-American critics group.”

While many of the actors being honored were not able to attend the ceremony – Lupita Nyong’o acknowledged her breakout performance prize via a recorded video message and Whitaker accepted the best supporting actress award on behalf of his “Lee Daniels’ The Butler” co-star Winfrey – Ridley fought back tears as he took the stage to receive the best screenplay kudos and Whitaker, also recognized as a producer of best independent film winner “Fruitvale Station,” accepted his nod for best actor for “The Butler.”

Whitaker acknowledged the contributions to civil rights made by people like Eugene Allen, who inspired his “Butler” character Cecil Gaines, and discussed the importance of honoring their legacy.

“We need to look at ourselves in the photographs taken tonight and ask ourselves what we stand for,” Whitaker explained. “Let Cecil Gaines be a reminder that there are so many different ways to change the world and that any one of us has the capacity to be a force for good on this earth.”

(Pictured: DGA president Paris Barclay and Variety’s Justin Chang)

Popular on Variety

More Biz

  • Felicity Huffman

    Felicity Huffman Issues Apology After Receiving Prison Sentence: 'There Are No Excuses'

    Felicity Huffman issued a long statement of apology on Friday after receiving a two-week prison sentence for paying to illegally boost her daughter’s SAT score. In the statement, Huffman, in addition to saying  she accepts the court’s decision, acknowledges and apologizes to other parents fighting to get their children into college. Along with the prison [...]

  • Actress Felicity Huffman (C-L) and her

    Felicity Huffman Sentenced to 14 Days in Prison in SAT Cheating Case

    Felicity Huffman was sentenced on Friday to 14 days in prison for the crime of paying $15,000 to boost her daughter’s SAT score. Judge Indira Talwani also ordered her to serve 250 hours of community service and a year of probation, and pay a $30,000 fine. The sentence came as a surprise, as Talwani had [...]


    Rihanna Sings (Briefly), Pharrell and DJ Khaled Rock the Mic at Star-Studded Diamond Ball

    In just five years, Rihanna’s Diamond Ball has become one of the music industry’s biggest events of its kind, nearly on the level of the Clive Davis Pre-Grammy Gala. While there are several dazzling charity events with equal starpower and often-unique performances, what makes the Diamond Ball different is, obviously enough, Rihanna’s supernova aura and [...]

  • Amber Heard Seeks Info on Johnny

    Amber Heard Seeks Info on Johnny Depp's Arrests and Substance Abuse

    Amber Heard is asking Johnny Depp to turn over records related to his arrests and drug treatment, as her lawyers defend her from a $50 million defamation suit. Depp filed suit in March, accusing his ex-wife of tanking his career by writing a Washington Post op/ed alluding to her domestic violence allegations against him. Heard [...]

  • David Nevins, Chief Creative Officer, CBS

    David Nevins: CBS-Viacom Merger to Create 'Virtuous Eco-System' for Content

    CBS and Viacom leaders are looking for opportunities to create a “virtuous eco-system” for content that can prosper across the various platforms of the two companies that are set to merge by year’s end. That was the sentiment shared by David Nevins, chief creative officer of CBS and chairman-CEO of Showtime Networks, during a Q&A [...]

  • 'Resident Evil' Stuntwoman Files Suit Over

    'Resident Evil' Stuntwoman Files Suit Over Horrific Motorcycle Crash

    A stuntwoman who suffered severe injuries on the set of “Resident Evil: The Final Chapter” in 2015 has filed a lawsuit alleging that the film’s producers reneged on a promise to cover her medical costs. Olivia Jackson was driving a motorcycle that collided head-on with a camera rig during the shoot in South Africa. According [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content