J.J. Abrams Congratulates ‘Star Wars’ First A.D. on BAFTA Honor

Tommy Gormley's credits include 'Star Trek into Darkness' and 'Star Wars: The Force Awakens'

J.J. Abrams Congratulates 'Star Wars' First .D. on BAFTA Honor

Star Wars: The Force Awakens” helmer J.J. Abrams was one of those to send a message congratulating the film’s first assistant director Tommy Gormley, who received the outstanding contribution to craft award at the BAFTA Scotland awards on Sunday in Glasgow.

“I’d like to say three things. One: BAFTA Scotland rules. Two: Scotland rules. And three: Tommy Gormley rules. Tommy Gormley is not just the most incredible first A.D. I’ve ever seen but is one of the greatest people I’ve ever met,” Abrams said in a video message.

Gormley’s credits also include Abrams pics “Mission: Impossible III,” “Star Trek,” “Super 8” and “Star Trek into Darkness.” He has also worked on “John Carter,” “Mission: Impossible — Ghost Protocol” and Roland Emmerich’s “2012.” Emmerich also sent a message congratulating Gormley, who received the award from thesp Simon Pegg, who appeared in “Star Trek,” “Ghost Protocol” and “Star Trek into Darkness.”

Click here for an interview between Gormley and the Daily Record at the Scottish BAFTAs about “Star Wars: The Force Awakens.”

The night’s big winner was hard-hitting prison drama “Starred Up,” coming top in three of the four categories in which it was nominated. The film finished ahead of “Filth” and “Sunshine on Leith” to win the feature film award. For his work on the film, David Mackenzie took home the director award while the pic’s writer Jonathan Asser picked up the trophy for his category.

Thesping winners were James McAvoy for film actor with “Filth,” David Tennant for television actor with “The Escape Artist,” Sophie Kennedy Clark for actress in a film with “Philomena,” and Shirley Henderson for television actress for “Southcliffe.”

Will Anderson’s “Monkey Love Experiments” triumphed in the animation category.

The award for children’s program went to “Katie Morag,” the adaptation of the book series.

Edinburgh-based video-game studio Rockstar Games accepted the game award for “Grand Theft Auto V,” the latest instalment in the franchise.

Other winners included “Dave: Loan Ranger” for current affairs, “Britain’s Whale Hunters: The Untold Story” in the factual series category, “Getting On” for short film, “Keys to the Castle” for single documentary, and “Location, Location, Location” for features/factual entertainment program.

Jackie McNamara was presented with an award for outstanding contribution to television, and Alex Graham received the award for outstanding contribution to broadcasting.