John Bailey, Gale Anne Hurd, John Knoll and Michael Tronick have accepted invitations to join the Science and Technology Council of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, bringing the council’s membership to 25 for 2014-2015.

Bailey is a cinematographer with more than four decades behind the camera.  He joined the Academy in 1981 and is currently a governor representing cinematographers.  Bailey was elected to a vice president post this year.

SEE ALSO: Academy Unveils 21 Feats on Oscar’s Sci-Tech Short List

Hurd is producer and CEo of her own company, Valhalla Motion Pictures, with credits including films “Aliens” and “The Terminator” trilogy, as well as ‘The Walking Dead” on AMC.  A former Academy governor, Hurd has chaired the Academy’s Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting Committee, Investment Committee, Producers Branch Executive Committee and Festival Grants Committee, and has been a member of the Producers Branch since 1987.

Knoll is currently the chief creative officer at Industrial Light & Magic, where he began as a technical assistant in 1986.  He went on to supervise visual effects on more than 20 feature films, earning nominations for his work on ‘Star Wars Episode I: The Phantom Menace,” “Star Wars Episode II: Attack of the Clones,” and the first three “Pirtaes of the Caribbean” films.  He is currently a governor representing the Visual Effects Branch and has been an Academy member since 1997.

Tronick began his career as a music editor in the late 1970s before turning to film editing, with credits including “Scent of a Woman,” “Remember the Titans,” “Mr. and Mrs. Smith” and “Hairspray.”  He currently serves as an Academy governor representing the Film Editors Branch and has been an Academy member since 1979.

Established in 2003, the council provides a forum for exchange of information, promoting cooperating among technological interests within the industry, sponsors publications, fosters educational activities and preserves the history of science and technology of motion pictures.