VANCOUVER — The Writers Guild of Canada handed out seven awards Monday evening at its 17th Screenwriting Awards in Toronto.

Martin Gero took home the TV Drama honor for the first episode of “The L.A. Complex,” a cancelled CTV series that he also exec produced about the lives of twenty-somethings trying to make it in Hollywood. Meanwhile, Kim Coghill won for TV Comedy with “Less Than Kind,” a critically acclaimed HBO Canada series about a teen growing up in a loving but dysfunctional Jewish family in Winnipeg.

Andrew Wreggitt nabbed the Movies and Miniseries laurel for “The Phantoms,” which aired on pubcaster CBC and is based on a true story about a New Brunswick basketball team that overcame a tragic bus crash to win a championship.

Mitch Miyagawa’s “A Sorry State,” a TVO commission, took the Documentary award. Pic chronicles a life-changing journey of discovery as the Japanese-Canadian filmmaker explores his family’s painful past and the government’s apology for both interning his father along with 22,000 Japanese Canadians during WWI, and sending his stepmother to a residential school for Aboriginal children.  The subject matter has received a lot of attention from the press in Canada.

Dan Williams & Lienne Sawatsky won for Animation with “Sidekick,” a YTV series about the sidekick of a missing superhero and his adventures in a town divided between heroes and villains.
Julie Strassman-Cohn & Jill Golick nabbed an award in the Shorts  & Webseries category for their work on “Ruby Skye PI,” a digital series that first aired on YouTube and is currently on its second season.  John May & Suzanne Bolch won for Children & Youth with “How to Be Indie,” a YTV show focusing on Indian Canadian teen, Indira “Indie” Mehta.

This year, three special awards were also presented.

The prestigious Showrunner Award went to Mark Ellis & Stephanie Morgenstern, the co-creators of the popular Canadian police drama series “Flashpoint,” which aired for five seasons before its finale late last year. The duo were recognized for their leadership and creative vision.

The Jim Burt Screenwriting Prize went to “Wild Medicine” scribe Adam Garnet Jones.

Screenwriters Anne-Marie Perrotta, Simon Racioppa and Lienne Sawatsky received the Writers Block Award for their “invaluable contribution at the
bargaining table and beyond, assisting the WGC in obtaining minimum fees for animation writing.”

The Writers Guild of Canada represents more than 2,100 professional English-language screenwriters.