Sam Simon, who co-developed Fox’s “The Simpsons,” has been selected as the recipient of the Writers Guild of America West’s Animation Writers Caucus Writing Award.

The trophy, recognizing contributions to animation writing, will be presented Thursday at the caucus awards ceremony at WGA West  headquarters. “The Simpsons” executive producer Al Jean will present the award and WGA West president Chris Keyser will introduce the event.

“Sam Simon taught me everything about animation writing, and even more about life,” Jean said.

Simon co-wrote nearly a dozen “Simpsons” episodes during his tenure on the show, also serving as co-showrunner and character designer. After departing the series in 1993, he retained an executive producer credit for nearly 500 episodes over the series’ 24-year run.

“Sam Simon had a distinguished career as a television writer, working on shows like ‘Taxi,’ ‘Cheers’ and “It’s Garry Shandling’s Show,’ but when he turned to writing animation, he helped to give birth to something which changed the landscape of television and has given him a legacy that will live forever,” said AWC chair Craig Miller.

Simon has shared seven Emmy Awards for “The Simpsons” and two Emmys for his work on “The Tracey Ullman Show.”

Previous AWC Animation Writing Award honorees include Matt Groening, Mike Reiss, Brad Bird, Linda Woolverton, Stan Berkowitz, Mike Scully, Jules Feiffer, Patric Verrone and the late Dwayne McDuffie and Earl Kress.