Rupert Murdoch, Julia Louis-Dreyfus Among TV Hall of Fame 2014 Inductees

Industry fete to be held March 11, 2014

The Television Academy’s 23rd Hall of Fame class includes  actress Julia Louis-Dreyfus, writer-producer David E. Kelley, late night host Jay Leno, media mogul Rupert Murdoch, and iconic ABC Network executive Brandon Stoddard.  Additionally, sound pioneer and innovator Ray Dolby will be inducted posthumously.

The induction ceremony will take place at the Beverly Wilshire hotel on March 11, 2014.

The 2014 honorees join more than 130 individuals previously inducted into the Hall of Fame since its inception in 1984. Recognized for their extraordinary contributions to the medium, candidates are submitted by the Television Academy’s membership and the industry at large to the Hall of Fame Selection Committee, chaired by Warner Bros. Television Group President and Chief Content Officer Peter Roth. In addition to Roth, this year’s committee included Emmy Award-winning producer Marcy Carsey; Bonnie Hammer, Chairman of NBCUniversal Cable Entertainment Group; Rick Rosen, Board Member and Head of Television at WME; Fred Silverman, founder of The Fred Silverman Company and former executive at ABC, CBS and NBC; and Nina Tassler, President of CBS Entertainment.

Louis-Dreyfus earned worldwide acclaim and recognition for her portrayal of Elaine Benes in the hit NBC series “Seinfeld,” as Christine Campbell in the CBS hit comedy “The New Adventures of Old Christine” and most recently as Vice President Selina Meyer in the HBO series “Veep.” Between all shows, she has received four Emmy awards and fourteen nominations, a Golden Globe award and four nominations, as well as five Screen Actors Guild awards and eleven nominations.

Award-winning writer-producer David E. Kelley is the mind behind some of America’s most distinctive television series. As creator of the Emmy, Peabody and Golden Globe Award-winning shows “Boston Legal,” “The Practice” and “Ally McBeal,” the critically acclaimed dramatic series “Harry’s Law,” “Boston Public” and “Chicago Hope,” and the multiple award-winning drama series “Picket Fences,” Kelley’s writing and executive-producing style continues to intrigue television viewing audiences.  His most recent series is “The Crazy Ones,” on CBS.

Jay Leno, the longtime host of NBC’s “Tonight Show,”  has dominated late night television for more than two decades.  He has been honored by the Television Academy with an Emmy for “Outstanding Comedy, Variety or Music Series.”

Rupert Murdoch is Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of 21st Century Fox, a portfolio of cable, broadcast, film, pay TV and satellite assets spanning six continents across the globe.  In 1986, the company created the Fox Television Stations group, which now comprises 28 stations across the U.S. and served as the foundation for the launch of FOX Broadcasting Company – and with it an unprecedented fourth American broadcast network.

ABC veteran Brandon Stoddard became the network’s president in 1985.  Primetime shows created during his tenure included “Thirtysomething,” “The Wonder Years,” “China Beach,” “Full House,” and “Roseanne.”  In that era, Stoddard was also responsible for the creation of “Twin Peaks,” “Max Headroom,” and “Slap Maxwell.”

Ray Dolby founded Dolby Laboratories in 1965, and created an environment in which  scientists and engineers continue to advance the science of sight and sound to make entertainment and communications more engaging.

More TV

  • obi wan ewan mcgregor

    Obi-Wan Kenobi Series at Disney Plus Loses Writer, Seeks to Overhaul Scripts

    Pre-production on the Obi-Wan Kenobi-focused TV series in the works at Disney Plus has been put on hold as the streamer and Lucasfilm look to overhaul early scripts and find new writers, sources tell Variety. Hossein Amini had been attached to write. The news follows recent talk that the entire series was being scrapped altogether. [...]

  • Zion Williamson

    Zion Williamson's Pelicans Debut Is a Ratings Slam Dunk

    With ratings in a slump so far this season, the NBA has needed someone to come off the bench and ball out. Cue the New Orleans Pelicans debut of Zion Williamson. The much-heralded number 1 pick from the 2019 draft had sat out the first 44 games of the Pelicans’ season with a knee injury, [...]

  • RuPauls Drag Race

    TV News Roundup: VH1 Announces 'RuPaul's Drag Race' Season 12 Contestants

    In today’s TV news roundup, VH1 revealed the contestants for the upcoming season of “RuPaul’s Drag Race” and the Oprah Winfrey Network renewed several of its unscripted series. CASTING VH1 revealed the 13 queens that will be competing on the 12th season of “RuPaul’s Drag Race” are Aidenn Zhane, Bria, Crystal Methyd, Dahlia Sin, Gigi [...]

  • Outmatched

    'Outmatched' With Jason Biggs and Maggie Lawson: TV Review

    The latest variation on network sitcoms’ beloved “a family, but with [x complication],” Fox’s “Outmatched” flips the usual parent-child dynamic on its head by following an Atlantic City family, including three bonafide genius kids who are too smart for their bewildered parents to understand. Each time one of their children tests off the charts, Mike [...]

  • Janene Drafs KTLA

    Janene Drafs Becomes First Woman to Lead KTLA

    KTLA-TV is poised for a historic changing of the guard as Seattle station executive Janene Drafs takes the reins of the storied Los Angeles TV station as general manager following the retirement of local broadcast stalwart Don Corsini. Drafs, who is the first woman to lead KTLA, is set to begin her post as VP and [...]

  • Conductor and Composer Eímear Noone pictured

    Oscars to Feature Female Orchestra Conductor for the First Time

    A woman will be conducting at the Oscars for the first time on Sunday, Feb. 9, the Academy announced today. Irish-born composer-conductor Eímear Noone will conduct excerpts from the five nominated scores. She is the first female to lead the orchestra in the history of the televised awards, the Academy said. Details beyond that are [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content