Lil Wayne’s ‘Human Being’ Bows at No. 2 as Timberlake Holds Crown

'20/20 Experience' stays at No. 1 despite big drop; Blake Shelton lands at No. 3

Justin Timberlake’s “The 20/20 Experience” maintained its No. 1 crown on the U.S. album chart last week, despite an expected sharp decline.

Half a dozen new titles crowded into the top 10, but none was puissant enough to top Timberlake.

The vocalist’s RCA album took the pinnacle for a second week with a tally of 318,000 copies sold, according to Nielsen SoundScan data for the week ending March 31. That represented a plunge of 67% from the album’s 968,000-unit debut-week total, the best single-frame score of 2013 to date.

With cumulative sales of 1.3 million to its credit, Timberlake’s set became the first million-seller of the year.

Lil Wayne’s “I Am Not a Human Being II” (Cash Money) rolled in at No. 2 with a 217,000-unit bow.

The first “Human Being” arrived at No. 2 in 2010 as a digital download and subsequently ascended to No. 1 behind a CD release. Sales of the sequel were no doubt fueled by media coverage of Wayne’s seizure scare last month; the rap star has since declared that he is suffering from epilepsy.

Blake Shelton’s “Based on a True Story” (Warner Nashville) landed at No. 3 behind a 199,000-unit stanza. It’s the country singer and “The Voice” coach’s second-best chart start to date; 2011’s “Red River Blue” hit No. 1, but with a smaller 116,000-copy debut week.

OneRepublic’s “Native” (Interscope) signed on at No. 4 with 60,000 sold, good for the Colorado-bred rock unit’s first top-10 debut. Act’s previous high water mark came with its debut “Dreaming Out Loud,” which peaked at No. 14 in 2007.

“Precious Memories: Volume II” (EMI Nashville), a second collection of devotional songs by country singer Alan Jackson, entered at No. 5 with 55,000 sold. The singer’s first set of hymns bowed at No. 4 in 2006.

U.K. rock unit Depeche Mode’s “Delta Machine” (Columbia) signed on at No. 6, reaping sales of 52,000. It is the veteran act’s first release in four years: 2009’s “Sounds of the Universe” reached No. 3.  New York rockers the Strokes’ “Comedown Machine” (RCA) came aboard at No. 10 with 41,000 shifted. The group’s last three albums all peaked at No. 4.

Holding over from last week with solid increases were Pink’s “The Truth About Love” (No. 7, 49,000 sold, up 34%), Imagine Dragons’ “Night Visions” (No. 8, 47,000, up 59%) and Bruno Mars’ “Unorthodox Jukebox” (No. 9, 47,000, up 13%).

New releases by the Band Perry and Tyler the Creator will contend for top 10 slots next week.

More Music

  • Beyonce poses for photographers upon arrival

    Beyoncé Releases Music Video for 'Spirit,' Her 'Lion King' Soundtrack Contribution

    Beyoncé fans are stampeding across the web veldt to get a look at her just-released music video for “Spirit,” the original song she co-wrote and sang for the “Lion King” soundtrack. The track is also included on the companion album she executive-produced and will release Friday, “The Gift.” Clips from the computer-animated film are interspersed [...]

  • Woodstock 50's Latest Plea Denied by

    Woodstock 50's Latest Plea Denied Unanimously by Town of Vernon

    UPDATED: The light is quickly fading on Woodstock 50, which in its latest plea to the town of Vernon, New York, was rejected in its effort to secure a permit to hold the three-day concert at Vernon Downs. The Syracuse area venue with a capacity of 35,000 was the most recent proposed site for the [...]

  • Beyonce-HOMECOMING-Netflix

    Beyoncé, Sara Bareilles Vie for First Emmys as Ramin Djawadi Looks to Reclaim Throne

    Beyoncé and Sara Bareilles could add Emmy trophies to their awards shelves this year, having been nominated in key music categories Tuesday by the Television Academy. Beyoncé’s “Homecoming” special on Netflix was nominated in six categories, and four of those include a nod for the pop superstar herself. Only one of those is in a [...]

  • LiveXLive Names AOL and MTV Vet

    LiveXLive Names AOL and MTV Vet Dermot McCormack President

    Live entertainment digital media company LiveXLive Media today announced that AOL and MTV veteran Dermot McCormack has been named president of the company. According to the announcement, McCormack will lead the business and creative operations of LiveXLive, effective immediately. McCormack previously served as AOL’s Global President of Video and Studios, where he oversaw the video [...]

  • Harry Styles to Play Prince Eric

    Harry Styles in Talks to Play Prince Eric in Disney's 'Little Mermaid'

    Harry Styles is going under the sea. The former One Direction frontman is in early negotiations to play Prince Eric in Disney’s live-action adaptation of “The Little Mermaid.” Halle Bailey will portray the Ariel, a mermaid princess who dreams of being a human, while Melissa McCarthy is playing her evil aunt Ursula. “The Little Mermaid” [...]

  • R Kelly Sexual Assult Accusations Mugshot

    R. Kelly Ordered Held Without Bail

    R. Kelly has been ordered held without bond at a hearing Tuesday in federal court in Chicago, according to the Chicago Sun Times. The singer entered a not-guilty plea. The hearing, which follows the singer being hit Friday with a total of 18 counts of serious sexual misconduct and other charges in Chicago and New York, [...]

  • Sir Elton John, David Furnish. Sir

    New Elton John AIDS Foundation Gala to be Held in the South of France

    Elton John and David Furnish are launching a new gala for the Elton John AIDS Foundation. The two will host the inaugural A Midsummer Party benefit on July 24 in the south of France at the Johnny Pigozzi’s private estate, Villa Dorane, in Cap d’Antibes. A cocktail reception will be followed by dinner, a live [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content