You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

Drake’s ‘Same’ Marks His Third Consecutive No. 1 Collection

As expected, rapper Drake secured his third consecutive No. 1 collection last week, as the Cash Money set “Nothing Was the Same” led seven new titles onto the U.S. album chart.

The Toronto-born hip-hop star, né Aubrey Drake Graham, corralled the top slot with first-week sales of 658,000, according to Nielsen SoundScan data for the week ending Sept. 29. His previous chart-toppers, 2011’s “Take Care” (2 million sold) and 2010’s “Thank Me Later” (nearly 1.7 million) also reside on this week’s list, at Nos. 74 and 179 respectively.

Nashville sibling unit Kings of Leon tied their best chart placement ever with “Mechanical Bull” (RCA), which secured No. 2 with 110,000 copies moved out of the box. The band’s 2010 release “Come Around Sundown” claimed the same position. Its 2008 bestseller “Only By the Night,” which contained the hits “Sex On Fire” and Grammy winner “Use Somebody,” peaked at No. 4

A pair of familiar names climbed into the top five. Cher’s “Closer to the Truth” (Warner Bros.) boarded at No. 3, tracking 63,000. Incredibly, it’s the Oscar-winning singer’s highest debut in a solo career that dates back to 1965; 1998’s “Believe,” which contained the titular international hit, peaked at No. 4.

The perennially reliable Elton John’s “Diving Board” (Capitol) plunged in at No. 4 with a 47,000-copy opening lap. It was the vocalist-pianist’s third top-10 release of the millennium, succeeding “The Captain and the Kid” (No. 6, 2006), and “Songs From the West Coast” (No. 2, 2001).

Dream Theater’s self-titled Roadrunner album moved in at No. 7 with a 34,000-unit frame. The metal act’s showing was consistent with its most recent chart placements: “A Dramatic Turn of Events” (2011) debuted at No. 8, while “Black Clouds & Silver Linings” (2009) peaked at No. 6.

EDM triumvirate Krewella captured No. 8 with its first full-length release “Get Wet” (Columbia), which shifted 27,000. Act fronted by sisters Jahan and Yasmine Yousaf previously reaped a No. 6 dance hit with its 2012 EP “Play Hard.”

Metal warlords Metallica returned to the top 10 with the soundtrack to their concert doc “Through the Never” (Blackened), which bowed at No. 9 with 25,000 sold. The group’s IMAX 3D combination of live footage and dramatic narrative opened nationally on Sept. 27.

Last week’s No. 1 arrival, Jack Johnson’s “From Here to Now to You,” fell to No. 5 with a 37,000-copy tally (down 69%). Other holdovers included Luke Bryan’s “Crash My Party” (No. 6, 36,000, off 24%) and Justin Moore’s “Off the Beaten Path” (No. 10, 25,000, down 74%).

Next week should witness an interesting chart faceoff, as Justin Timberlake’s “The 20/20 Experience – 2 of 2,” out yesterday, will challenge Drake for the pinnacle. Timberlake’s first “20/20” installment, released earlier this year, has sold nearly 2.3 million to date.

More Music

  • Marc Byers

    Execs from Motown, Live Nation, Recording Academy Set to Speak at Culture Creators' Inaugural C2 Summit

    Culture Creators, the organization which recognizes minorities in film, television, music and fashion, is holding its first-ever C2 Summit on Oct. 21 in Washington D.C. Its mission: to engage, mentor, and provide recruitment opportunities to students of color attending historically black colleges and universities. Students were selected from an application process and will participate in [...]

  • Rami Dawod SESAC

    SESAC Toasts Rami Dawod as Pop Songwriter of the Year

    Camila Cabello’s “Never Be The Same” and “Electricity” by Mark Ronson and Silk City featuring Dua Lipa are just a few of the co-writing credits celebrated during an October 16 dinner at Nobu Malibu hosted by SESAC in honor of Rami Dawod. Named Pop Songwriter of the Year by the performance rights organization, Dawod is [...]

  • Luis Fonsi Erika Ender Latin Grammys

    The Second Latin Explosion: How 'Despacito' Ushered in a New Generation of Stars

    Music is an ever-evolving art, and for the Latin Recording Academy, that’s meant riding multiple waves of attention. The most recent arrived with the stratospheric success of “Despacito,” which kicked off a second Latin Explosion with full force in 2017. The Luis Fonsi and Daddy Yankee hit, later featuring verses by Justin Bieber, made Latin [...]

  • Ricky Martin Celia Cruz Gloria Estefan

    From Idea to Legacy: Latin Grammy Awards Mark 20 Years of Global Recognition

    The idea of creating a separate organization to honor the diversity of Latin music was a discussion that took place for years before it actually happened, but an event driven by one of pop music’s most important crossover artists solidified it. During the 41st Grammy Awards ceremony, a young Ricky Martin was scheduled to perform [...]

  • Taron Egerton Elton John Rocketman Live

    Elton John and Taron Egerton Duet at 'Rocketman' Awards Season Event at the Greek Theatre

    “Rocketman” has officially launched into awards season. Paramount hosted a screening of the film with a live-performance of the score by the Hollywood Symphony Orchestra and a headlining performance by Elton John and the film’s star Taron Egerton. John and Egerton — who is in contention for best actor for his portrayal of the singer [...]

  • BTS 'Good Morning America' TV show,

    BTS Show Love for Lauv and Their Army of Fans in Video for Reworked 'Make It Right'

    Early Friday morning (Oct. 18), BTS gave fans a taste of what their upcoming “comeback” (Korean pop terminology for new music) may be like with a reworked version of “Make It Right.” The Korean boy band collaborated with the American singer-songwriter Lauv, who starts the soulful ballad off with a verse in English. Advocates for [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content