You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

Arcade Fire Blazes Way to No. 1 Album Release

Canada’s Arcade Fire predictably claimed the top rung of the U.S. Album chart last week, leading a field of six fresh titles into the national top 10.

The group’s dance-inflected “Reflektor” (Capitol) grabbed the apex with a 140,000-unit debut week, according to Nielsen SoundScan data for the week ending Nov. 3. Tally is off the 156,000-unit first-week pace of the Montreal act’s last release, 2010’s “The Suburbs,” which was the band’s first U.S. chart-topper and captured the album of the year Grammy in 2011.

The holiday season was officially kicked off by the arrival of Kelly Clarkson’s “Wrapped in Red” (RCA), which decked the halls at No. 3 with a 70,000-copy bow. It is the pop star and “American Idol” grad’s sixth consecutive top-five album.

Another seasonal title, and a somewhat unlikely one, made a novel debut at No. 4: “Duck the Halls” (EMI Nashville), a Yule collection by the hirsute duck-hunting Robertsons of the A&E series “Duck Dynasty.” The clan’s collection of Christmas standards and new tracks like “Camouflage and Christmas Lights” shifted 69,000.

Country singer Thomas Rhett’s self-titled Valory debut album notched a No. 6 debut with a 36,000-unit score. The Georgia-born singer-songwriter has penned hits for Lee Brice, Florida Georgia Line and Jason Aldean and collected a top five hit of his own with “It Goes Like This.”

Longtime country star Toby Keith boarded at No. 7 with “Drinks After Work” (Show Dog), which reaped 35,000 first-week sales. Keith continues a string of top-10 albums dating back to 2001, but with his lowest-charting release since that year’s “Pull My Chain,” which peaked at No. 9.

Finally, hard rock standby Linkin Park moved in at No. 10 with “Recharged” (Warner Bros.), moving 33,000. The low debut for the perennial chart-topper is deceptive: The new release is a collection of Rick Rubin-Mike Shinoda remixes of previously released material. Band’s last studio album, “Living Things,” hit No. 1 last year.

Holdovers included Katy Perry’s “Prism,” which dropped to No. 2 with 92,000 sold (a 68% decline); Drake’s “Nothing Was the Same” (No. 5, 38,000 sold, off 13%), Lorde’s “Pure Heroine” (No. 8, 34,000, down 14%) and Miley Cyrus’ “Bangerz” (No. 9, 33,000, off 24%). Drake’s title topped the 1 million sales mark in its sixth chart week this week.

Rapper Eminem’s “The Marshall Mathers LP 2,” his first since 2010’s widely-praised “Recovery,” should easily brush aside all comers on next week’s chart.

More Music

  • Victoria Monet

    Hitmaker of the Month: Ariana Grande Collaborator Victoria Monét on 'Thank U, Next'

    Victoria Monét is what you’d call an all-around creative. A singer, songwriter and dancer, the Sacramento native is also among Ariana Grande’s go-to collaborators. Most recently, Monet had a hand in constructing Grande’s “Thank U, Next,” which topped the charts in multiple territories upon its November 2018 release, including the United States, the U.K., Australia, [...]

  • Tame Impala FYF Fest

    Tame Impala Drop House-y New Single, 'Patience' (Listen)

    Australia’s Tame Impala tend to switch things up with each album, but we’d have to say that an infusion of house music and Philadelphia soul were not what we were expecting. The group — which, in the studio, is essentially frontman Kevin Parker — has delivered what may be their most infectious single yet with “Patience,” [...]

  • Danny Bennett, Tony Bennett, Sir Lucian

    Verve President Danny Bennett Steps Down as UMG Restructures Jazz and Classical Divisions

    Verve Label Group president/CEO Danny Bennett has stepped down, Universal Music Group announced Thursday. Oversight of Verve will be taken over by Dickon Stainer, president/CEO of Universal Classics and Jazz, who will add the labels to a stable that already includes heading up Deutsche Grammophon and the Decca Label Group. The restructuring was cited by the [...]

  • Exclusive All RoundMandatory Credit: Photo by

    Lennon Stella's Post-'Nashville' Pop Video Shows 'Bitch'-iness Cuts Across Genders

    What happens when a Canadian country girl goes pop? America is finding out this year via Lennon Stella, the 19-year-old former co-star of TV’s “Nashville,” who signed to Barry Weiss’ Records imprint (which has a deal via Columbia Records) in the winter of 2018, and who this month released a stellar new song, “Bitch (Takes [...]

  • Members of the public mourn at

    Guy Oseary’s New Zealand Fundraiser Nears $150,000, Continues Raising Money

    In the wake of the horrific shootings at New Zealand mosques last week that killed some 49 people, Maverick chief Guy Oseary launched a GoFundMe campaign to “support those affected by this tragedy at this very difficult time,” and began it with an $18,000 donation. Boosted by donations from many celebrities — including Amy Schumer, [...]

  • Justin Carter Dead: Country Singer Dies

    Country Singer Justin Carter Dies After Accidental Shooting on Music Video Set

    Texas country music upstart Justin Carter has died from a gunshot wound, in an accident that took place while a gun was being as a prop for a music video being filmed in his apartment, according to reports out of Houston. Carter, 35, died Saturday, the same week he had signed a management deal and [...]

  • Karen O

    Karen O & Danger Mouse Talk ‘Lux Prima,’ Perform at New York Times Event

    “We’re gonna do one more song…” Karen O said at her and Danger Mouse’s performance and chat in New York Wednesday night, “… and then comes the hard part, which is talking about music.” She was probably inadvertently paraphrasing the age-old adage that attempting to write about music is like “dancing about architecture,” but the [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content