You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

Whistler: Ingrid Veninger’s ‘Ballsy’ Request? More Films Made by Women

After five days of screening, industry panels, and tributes to the likes of Richard Dreyfuss, Melissa Leo, and Jason Priestley, the 13th annual Whistler Film Festival culminated in an awards brunch on Sunday morning.

At the awards, the New York-based Alliance of Women Film Journalists presented two EDA awards for women filmmakers, with the Narrative Feature prize going to Toronto’s Ingrid Veninger for “The Animal Project,” which sets a group of struggling actors, each wearing a full body animal suit masking their identity, on an emotional voyage of self discovery.

While accepting her award, visibly moved, Veninger also took the opportunity to announce a new writing program for Canadian female screenwriters and directors that she will be launching through her production company, pUNK Films. In a bold move, Veninger proceeded to rally the audience for a $6,000 donation to the program.

“I know this is a ballsy request,” she said, “but I would like to see more feature films made by women. Who can donate $6,000 for six features?”

That’s when Oscar winner Leo stepped up to the plate. “I’ll do it!,” she yelled out, raising from her seat.

The EDA Award for Best Female-Directed Documentary went to Oscar-nominee Lucy Walker’s “The Crash Reel,” with a special mention to Alanis Obomsawin for “Hi-Ho Mistahey!,” about a Cree teenager and her efforts to lobby for improved educational opportunities for First Nations youth.

The festival’s prestigious Borsos Award for Best Canadian Feature Film went to Bruce McDonald’s “The Husband,” a darkly comedic drama about a man (Maxwell McCabe-Lokos) who struggles to raise a child while his wife is imprisoned for having an affair with a minor.

The Borsos Jury commented, “We were drawn in by this film’s original premise, the unpredictable turns of its narrative, and the natural harmony between the story’s unhinged protagonist and the director’s jagged visual style. This is a provocative drama that turns the tables on domestic conflict and made us richly uncomfortable.” Celebrating its 10th year, the award carries a $15,000 cash prize, the second largest in Canada.

For the second year in a row, Tatiana Maslany took WFF’s Best Performance in a Borsos Competition Film Award — this time for her role in Priestley’s feature film debut, “Cas & Dylan,” also starring Dreyfuss.

The WFF World Documentary Award was awarded to Mitchell Kezin’s “Jingle Bell Rocks!,” a personal look at the director’s obsession with Christmas tunes.

Variety’s executive editor Steven Gaydos also presented Variety’s 10 Screenwriters to Watch, with seven screenwriters in attendance: Ned Benson (“The Disappearance of Eleanor Rigby”), Lucinda Coxon (“Crimson Peak”), Andrew Dodge (“Bad Words”). Kieran Fitzgerald (“Bambi”), Morgan David Foehl (“The Asset”), Jennifer Lee (“Frozen”), Barbara Marshall (“The Exorcism Diaries”), Michael Mitnick (“The Giver”), Jonathan Tropper (“One Last Thing Before I Go”), and Elan Mastai (“The F Word”).

The awards ceremony concluded with an announcement of funding secured to renovate the fest’s main venue, the Rainbow Theatre. The Resort Municipality of Whistler and Tourism Whistler will pitch in $540,000 for the upgrade, with another $160,000 from the Whistler Blackcomb Foundation towards a digital cinema system.

More Film

  • Aniara review

    Film Review: 'Aniara'

    Each year brings an example or three of purported “thinking person’s science-fiction” films, a category that pretty much embraces anything not centered on monsters or lightsaber battles. These efforts are often more admirable in theory than result, but “Aniara” — the first film drawn from Nobel Prize-winning Swedish poet Harry Martinson’s 1956 cycle of 103 [...]

  • Avengers: Endgame

    'Avengers: Endgame' Reviews: What the Critics Are Saying

    It’s been a long year for Marvel fans since the release of “Avengers: Infinity War,” but the wait is nearly over. The finale to the Infinity Saga is here, and while most diehard fans will know to avoid them for fear of spoilers, early reviews are mostly positive. Last year’s “Infinity War” took home an [...]

  • American Made

    'American Made' Plane Crash Lawsuits End in Settlement

    The producers of the Tom Cruise film “American Made” have settled all litigation surrounding a 2015 plane crash in Colombia that killed two pilots. The settlement resolves pending suits in both California and Georgia. A notice of settlement was filed in Santa Monica Superior Court on Monday. Terms of the settlement were not disclosed. The [...]

  • Avengers: Endgame

    Film Review: 'Avengers: Endgame'

    SPOILER ALERT: The following review contains mild spoilers for “Avengers: Endgame.” The culmination of 10 years and more than twice as many movies in the Marvel Cinematic Universe, “Avengers: Endgame” promises closure where its predecessor, “Avengers: Infinity War,” sowed chaos. That film — which revealed that the cookie-cutter uniformity of all those MCU movies had [...]

  • Avengers: Endgame

    'Avengers: Endgame': Why a $300 Million Opening Could Be Impossible

    “Avengers: Endgame” is preparing for a staggering debut between $250 million and $268 million in North America alone. Unprecedented anticipation surrounding the Marvel juggernaut has some particularly optimistic box office watchers tossing around even higher numbers, estimating the superhero tentpole could clear nearly $300 million in ticket sales in its first three days. If any film [...]

  • Leonardo Dicaprio Nightmare Alley

    Leonardo DiCaprio in Talks to Star in Guillermo del Toro's 'Nightmare Alley' (EXCLUSIVE)

    Leonardo DiCaprio is in negotiations to star in Fox Searchlight’s “Nightmare Alley,” Guillermo del Toro’s follow-up to his Oscar-winning film “The Shape of Water.” Del Toro will direct the pic and co-wrote the script with Kim Morgan. “Nightmare Alley” is being produced and financed by del Toro and J. Miles Dale with TSG Entertainment, with [...]

  • Ben Affleck

    Ben Affleck to Star in and Direct World War II Caper 'Ghost Army'

    Ben Affleck will star in and direct the Universal Pictures caper “Ghost Army,” based on the book “The Ghost Army of World War II,” written by Rick Beyer and Elizabeth Sayles, as well as the documentary “Ghost Army.” It’s unclear when the movie will go into production as it’s still in development and Affleck is [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content