WGA Tightens Eligibility For Documentary Awards

Screenplays must be written under guild jurisdiction

The Writers Guild of America has tightened up the eligibility for its documentary screenplay awards and will only allow scripts that have been written under its jurisdiction or one of its sister guilds.

Move comes eight years after the first WGA documentary award went to Morgan Spurlock for “Super Size Me,” the story of his quest to eat nothing but McDonald’s food for a month. “Searching for Sugar Man” won the award this year.

The new requirements sync the eligibility rules with those for feature-film screenplays, which results in several Oscar-nominated screenplays not receiving guild recognition such as “Amour,” “Beasts of the Southern Wild” and “Django Unchained.”

Guild leaders have said repeatedly that they have no intention of changing the eligibility rules because they want to persuade non-members to become members and because — unlike the DGA or SAG-AFTRA — the WGA is the ultimate arbiter of screenplay credits, rather than producers or studios.

The submission period runs from Aug. 19 through Nov. 15, with all feature nominees announced  Jan. 3. Awards will be presented Feb. 1 at simultaneous ceremonies in Los Angeles and New York City.

The documentary awards were first presented in 2005 with the doc-writing category not requiring the producer be a guild signatory. Instead, the credited writers were required to join the nonfiction writers caucus at the WGA West or the WGA East.

The WGA had announced creation of the documentary award in 2004 while at the same time excluding nonfiction works from its original screenplay award, which eliminated Michael Moore’s chances of taking home a second WGA trophy for original screenplay on “Fahrenheit 9/11.” He won the guild’s original screenplay award for 2002′s “Bowling for Columbine.”

The new rules require that theatrical documentaries must have been written under the WGA’s minimum basic agreement or under a bona-fide collective bargaining agreement of the Writers Guild of Canada, Writers Guild of Great Britain, Irish Playwrights & Screenwriters Guild, New Zealand Writers Guild, La Guilde Francaise des Scenaristes (France), Scriptwriters Guild of Israel, or the Societe des Auteurs de Radio, Television et Cinema (Quebec).

Documentaries must contain an onscreen writing credit and have been exhibited theatrically in Los Angeles or New York for at least one week during 2013. Scripts must be more than 40 minutes.

Additionally, documentaries that received their first public exhibition via broadcast or cable television are not eligible for WGA awards consideration. Foreign-language films are eligible if they feature English-language subtitles.

More Film

  • BOTM-Eve-Viper-Gang

    Director Angus Gibson: My Audience is ‘Young, Black South Africans’

    DURBAN–Sophiatown, 1958. On the outskirts of Johannesburg, as the apartheid police prepare to demolish the community at the heart of black South African cultural and intellectual life, a notorious gang leader is determined to make a last stand. Resisting the forced evictions that will transport the residents of Sophiatown to a desolate township miles away, [...]

  • marvel

    Marvel Phase 4 Plan Revealed, But Comic-Con’s Big Winner is Disney Plus

    In a triumphant return to the San Diego Comic-Con main stage, leadership at Marvel Studios managed some splashy surprises and showed off risky creative bets for the next two years of content coming from the superhero operation. But the biggest takeaway from the Saturday presentation inside Hall H was how important Marvel will make Disney [...]

  • Florence Pugh, O. T. Fagbenle, Rachel

    'Black Widow': Scarlett Johansson and Florence Pugh Go Head-to-Head in First Footage

    Marvel’s “Black Widow” has only been in production for a month, but studio president Kevin Feige still delivered the goods for fans at San Diego Comic-Con on Saturday. Filmmakers brought an intense sizzle reel of on-location shots, kicked off by a dazzling and bone-crushing fight sequence between lead Scarlett Johansson and her on-screen sister Florence [...]

  • Natalie Portman Thor

    Natalie Portman Returns for 'Thor: Love and Thunder' as Female Thor

    Natalie Portman is coming back to the Marvel Cinematic Universe, but she’s no one’s love interest this time around. The Oscar winner will play a female god of thunder in the fourth film from the Chris Hemsworth series, titled “Thor: Love and Thunder.” Portman hit the stage at San Diego Comic-Con on Saturday to great [...]

  • Fantastic Four

    New 'Fantastic Four' Movie in Development at Marvel

    Marvel is going back to the Fantastic Four. Marvel Studios chief Kevin Feige announced that a new movie based on the superhero group is in the works at San Diego Comic-Con on Saturday. Further details, however, including a release date, were not revealed. It marks the first Fox property for Disney to mine since the [...]

  • Mahershala AliMarvel Studios panel, Comic-Con International,

    Mahershala Ali to Star in Marvel's 'Blade' Reboot

    Marvel is rebooting the “Blade” series, and has cast Mahershala Ali to star. Marvel Studios chief Kevin Feige announced the news at Comic-Con on Saturday as the panel’s big ending surprise. Ali also took the stage at the announcement to massive applause, donning the Blade baseball cap. Wesley Snipes previously played the half-vampire superhero in [...]

  • Doctor Strange

    'Doctor Strange' Sequel Billed as First MCU Horror Film at Comic-Con

    A sequel to “Doctor Strange” was announced as expected on Saturday at Marvel’s Comic-Con panel — what we didn’t see coming was the tone. Director Scott Derrickson said the film, titled “Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness,” will mine the original comics and play up “the gothic, the horror.” Derrickson said it will lead [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content