The 2013 Tribeca Film Festival will hand out a lifetime achievement award to choreographer Twyla Tharp as part of its fourth Disruptive Innovation Awards on April 26.

Morgan Spurlock, K-pop star Psy and Glenn Beck also are among names on the roster of honorees.

The kudos, which singles out game-changers across a wide array of disciplines, seem to have little to do with film. But they position Tribeca as a place for new tech and new ideas, another example of the forward-looking focus the fest uses  to distinguish itself from the pack . This year, for instance, Tribeca launches the “Storyscapes” section, consisting of five cross-platform, new-media works presented alongside more traditional films on its slate.

The Disruptive Innovation Awards are co-presented with the Disruptor Foundation, the nonprofit launched by Tribeca co-founder Craig Hatkoff and Clayton Christensen.

Tharp has been a major name in the dance world for several decades. Along with her work as the founder of the Twyla Tharp Dance troupe, her resume also includes film credits  “Hair,” “Ragtime” and “Amadeus,” and her Broadway work includes 2002 dance-ical “Movin’ Out,” which netted her a 2003 Tony for choreography.

Psy gets an honor for his new-media ascent to fame, while Beck gets the laurel for media outlet The Blaze and Spurlock receives the award as one of the creators (with GE) of short-doc series Focus Forward.

The digitally retooled Forbes Magazine, StumbleUpon founding exec Garrett Camp, director and artist Kenzo Digital and the city of Manchester, England, are among the varied orgs, initiatives and people set to be honored.

The Tribeca Film Festival runs April 17-28.