Tom Hanks will receive the Palm Springs Film Festival Chairman’s Award at the Jan. 4 gala. The two-time Oscar-winning thesp is being recognized for both “Captain Phillips” and “Saving Mr. Banks” at the festival that runs Jan. 3-13.

Also being honored at the festival gala are Sandra Bullock, Bruce Dern, Matthew McConaughey, Steve McQueen, Thomas Newman, Lupita Nyong’o, Julia Roberts and the cast of “American Hustle.”

“Tom Hanks is one of the greatest actors of his generation,” said festival chairman Harold Matzner. “In a remarkable feat that vividly illustrates the range of his talent, this year he portrayed two real life characters, each a powerhouse performance in its own right.”

Past recipients of the award include Ben Affleck, George Clooney, Richard Gere, Dustin Hoffman and Nicole Kidman.