Sweden’s Golden Bugs swarm to Pichler’s ‘Eat Sleep Die’

It takes best film, director, writer and actress honors


First-time helmer-scribe Gabriela Pichler’s “Eat Sleep Die” scooped the Swedish Film Institute’s Guldbagge (Golden Bug) awards for best pic, director, script and actress for debutant Nermina Lukac on Monday at Cirkus in Stockholm.

Eat Sleep Die,” produced by China Ahlander at Anagram, preemed at the Venice Film Festival in September, where it won the Critics’ Week audience award.

Director Mikael Marcimain’s “Call Girl” nabbed four awards in the technical categories, including best cinematography for Hoyte van Hoytema.

Mans Petersen’s “Avalon” nabbed actor and support actor laurels for Johannes Brost and Peter Carlgren respectively. Supporting actress went to Ulla Skoog for her role in veteran Jan Troell’s “The Last Sentence.”

Malik Bendjelloul’s Oscar-nominated documentary “Searching for Sugar Man” took the doc prize.

Abba member and composer Benny Andersson won for music in Kristina Lindstrom and Maud Nycander’s “Palme,” which was also laurelled for editing.

Popular on Variety

An honorary award went to Swedish director Tomas Alfredson’s father, actor-director Hans Alfredson, who has won the Guldbagge for director three times.

Michael Haneke’s Oscar-nominated “Amour” continued its international triumph, nabbing the prize for best foreign pic, beating Wes Anderson’s “Moonrise Kingdom” and Xavier Dolan’s “Laurence Anyways.”

The first Guldbagge Awards were presented in 1964, when Ingmar Bergman’s “The Silence” won in three of four categories.

More Film

  • Pamela Tola

    Göteborg: Pamela Tola Proves There is an Audience for Different Stories

    GÖTEBORG, Sweden —  Chosen to close the discussion dedicated to discrimination against elderly people at the Göteborg Film Festival, Pamela Tola’s “Ladies of Steel” fitted right into this year’s focus on feminism and gender at the Swedish event. Which managed to deliver on its 50/50 promise, with 54% of the presented films being directed by [...]

  • Shirley Chen and Jose Angeles appear

    'Beast Beast': Film Review

    Writer-director Danny Madden’s “Beast Beast” clatters to life with organic percussion: a stick rat-a-tatting against an iron fence, a skateboard scraping on concrete, a rifle pinging bullets against a defenseless tin plate. Together, these sounds combine into jazz, despite the discordance of the three teens making such a ruckus. Krista (Shirley Chen), the stick thwacker, [...]

  • Sundance: PBS POV Acquires Kenyan Doc

    Sundance: PBS POV Acquires Kenyan Doc ‘Softie’ (EXCLUSIVE)

    PBS’s documentary arm POV has snapped up U.S. broadcast rights for Kenyan director Sam Soko’s “Softie,” fresh off its world premiere in the World Documentary Cinema competition at Sundance, Variety has learned. The film, which is the first Kenyan-produced movie to premiere at the festival, will air as part of the series’ 33rd season, which kicks [...]

  • Will Smith as Mike Lowrey in

    Box Office: 'Bad Boys for Life' Rules Over 'The Gentlemen'

    STX’s “The Gentlemen” proved no match for Sony’s “Bad Boys for Life,” which again left box office competitors in the dust after collecting $34 million in its sophomore outing. Those ticket sales, pushing the Will Smith and Martin Lawrence-led sequel past the $100 million mark, were easily enough to claim the No. 1 spot for [...]

  • Kajillionaire

    'Kajillionaire': Film Review

    The world is a weird place. Miranda July knows that, but the rest of us sometimes forget. Or maybe we just don’t want to admit how bizarre it is that society more or less agrees that back rubs and hot tubs and flavored chips and McRibs are an appropriate reward for a bazillion years of [...]

  • Stellan Skarsgard

    Göteborg Listens to Stellan according to Skarsgård

    GÖTEBORG, Sweden — Laughs were aplenty at the Stora Theatern, where Göteborg Film Festival artistic director Jonas Holmberg welcomed the recipient of the Nordic Honorary Dragon Award, fresh off his Golden Globe win for HBO’s “Chernobyl”. “It wasn’t planned. I thought that will be my only award this year, that’s why I said yes!” – joked Skarsgård, [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content