Slamdance taps competition jurors

11 notable members of the indie community selected

Slamdance has tapped 11 notable members of the indie community as its competition jurors for its 19th annual festival, which takes place Jan. 18-24.

The Slamdance Awards will be presented on Jan. 24 at the Treasure Mountain Inn in Park City, Utah. The rules at Slamdance, launched as an alternative to Sundance, stipulate that films in competition have budgets under $1 million.

Jury members include Nancy Schafer, who was was executive director of the Tribeca Film Festival and exec VP of Tribeca Enterprises along with creating and runing the South by Southwest Film Festival for eight years; Meira Blaustein, co-founder/exec director/programmer of the Woodstock Film Festival; Dan Schoenbrun, the communications and programming coordinator at the Independent Filmmaker Project; Brian Knappenberger, who has created documentaries and feature films for the Sundance Channel, PBS, The Travel Channel, National Geographic and the Discovery Channel; Sheri Candler, who directs digital marketing strategy for The Film Collaborative; and Daniel J. Harris, who produced the documentary collective feature “I Want to be an American” for Slamdance.

Popular on Variety

Other jurors include the team of Eleanor Burke and Ron Eyal, whose debut feature “Stranger Things” won the grand jury prize for best narrative feature at the 2011 Slamdance festival; Chris Gore, a comedian, writer, and regular on G4TV’s “Attack of the Show”; Skizz Cyzyk, a filmmaker/writer/musician/artist who is in his 17th year as a Slamdance projectionist and 10th year on the Slamdance advisory board; and Paul Rachman, a founding filmmaker, programmer and east coast director for Slamdance.

More Film

  • Brand Storytelling 2020 Sundance

    Sundance 2020: Brand Storytelling Lineup Set for 5th Annual Media and Marketing Event

    Brand Storytelling is returning to Park City this year to host its fifth annual media and marketing event at the Sundance Film Festival, with a lineup of keynotes, panels, screenings, music performances and more. Launched in 2016, the company’s “festival within a festival” at Sundance will again bring together execs from major brands with media [...]

  • Terry Jones, Director of Monty Python

    Terry Jones, Co-Founder of Monty Python, Dies at 77

    Terry Jones, co-founder of Monty Python, died Wednesday. Jones died after a long struggle with dementia. He was 77 years old. Jones was instrumental in creating the wacky, absurdist style of comedy that Monty Python made famous in the 1970s and directed two of the English comedy group’s most successful films, “Monty Python and the Holy [...]

  • Legion M Launches Film Scout Mobile

    Film News Roundup: Legion M Launches Film Scout Mobile App at Sundance

    In today’s film news roundup, Legion M is launching its Film Scout mobile app, the first round of Oscar presenters are unveiled, Verve is expanding its book-to-screen business, “Gladiator” producer David Franzoni boards an American Indian project, and XYZ announces promotions. SUNDANCE LAUNCH Fan-owned Legion M is launching its Film Scout mobile app at this [...]

  • Writers vs Agents Packaging War WGA

    APA Reaches Deal With Writers Guild of America

    APA has reached a deal with the Writers Guild of America, ending a nine-month standoff over allowing the agency to represent guild members. The full-service agency made the announcement Tuesday, four days after the Gersh agency signed a similar deal with the WGA. It’s the sixth mid-size agency to accede to the WGA’s bans on [...]

  • UTA Sundance

    UTA Marketing Ups Sundance Game With Private Residence, Programming

    Talent agency hospitality is a mainstay at the Sundance film Festival, be it in swanky lounges on Park City’s Main Street or private chalets in nearby Deer Valley. United Talent Agency, whose talent roster and independent film group always come in force each year, typically throws a brunch for friends and press — but will [...]

  • Joel Silver

    Silver Pictures Settles with Family of Assistant Who Died on Bora Bora Trip

    Silver Pictures has reached a confidential settlement with the family of Carmel Musgrove, the assistant to Joel Silver who was found dead in a Bora Bora lagoon in 2015. Musgrove’s family filed a wrongful death suit in 2017, alleging that she had been overworked and furnished with drugs and alcohol during the trip. The family [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content