‘Sapphires’ tunes into 11 Australian Acad awards

Musical scores for film, script, actor, actress among honors


It was a great night for indigenous filmmakers as feelgood tuner “The Sapphires,” about an Aboriginal girl group in the 1960s, took all the major kudos at the 2nd Australian Academy of Cinema and Television Arts awards on Wednesday evening.

“The Sapphires” scored for film, helmer for Wayne Blair, lead actor and actress (Chris O’Dowd, Deborah Mailman), supporting actress (Jessica Mauboy) and best adapted screenplay (Tony Briggs, Keith Thompson).

It nabbed five technical trophies at a ceremony last week, bringing its total to 11 awards.

The special Byron Kennedy Award went to helmer Sarah Watt (“Look Both Ways”) who passed away in 2011.

Best television drama series went to “Puberty Blues” with telefeature going to “Howzat! Kerry Packer’s War,” about how the Aussie media mogul fought cricket traditionalists to change the game for broadcast on his Nine Network.

Kudocast was broadcast on Channel Ten and was held at the Star Event Center in Sydney, hosted by thesp Russell Crowe.