Jason Blum Producing ‘Visions’ (EXCLUSIVE)

Greutert directing thriller with fall start

Micro-budget pioneer Jason Blum is seeing “Visions,” coming on board to produce the thriller through his Blumhouse Prods. with “Saw 3D” director Kevin Greutert helming.

Blumhouse bought Lucas Sussman’s spec script and is aiming for a fall start.

Story, in the vein of “The Others” and “What Lies Beneath,” centers on a pregnant woman moving to the wine country to be with her husband at their vineyard — a move which triggers terrifying visions.

Blumhouse recently launched a foreign sales operation at Cannes, selling “Sinister 2,” and comedy thriller “Stretch,” to be directed by Joe Carnahan.

Blum has had major success via the “Paranormal Activity” franchise, launched in 2009, and has four wide-release movies on tap — “The Purge,” with Michael Bay’s Platinum Dunes, which opens June 7; “Insidious Chapter 2,” the sequel to “Insidious,” with FilmDistrict on Sept. 13; “Paranormal Activity 5″ for Paramount on Oct. 25; and “Ghosts” for Lionsgate on Jan. 10.

Gruetert was the editor on the first five “Saw” films and directed the final two. He also directed the upcoming “Ghosts” for Blumhouse.

Greutert is repped by UTA and Anonymous. Sussman is repped by ICM Partners and Bernderspink.

More Film

  • Todd Brown, XYZ Films

    African Finance Under Spotlight at Durban FilmMart  

    Micro-budget pioneer Jason Blum is seeing “Visions,” coming on board to produce the thriller through his Blumhouse Prods. with “Saw 3D” director Kevin Greutert helming. Blumhouse bought Lucas Sussman’s spec script and is aiming for a fall start. Story, in the vein of “The Others” and “What Lies Beneath,” centers on a pregnant woman moving […]

  • Ryan Reynolds'Deadpool' panel, Comic-Con International, San

    Ryan Reynolds Wants to Explore Deadpool's Bisexuality in Future Films

    Micro-budget pioneer Jason Blum is seeing “Visions,” coming on board to produce the thriller through his Blumhouse Prods. with “Saw 3D” director Kevin Greutert helming. Blumhouse bought Lucas Sussman’s spec script and is aiming for a fall start. Story, in the vein of “The Others” and “What Lies Beneath,” centers on a pregnant woman moving […]

  • Mandatory Credit: Photo by Invision/AP/REX/Shutterstock (9243328q)From

    Jonathan Gold, Pulitzer Prize-Winning Restaurant Critic, Dies at 57

    Micro-budget pioneer Jason Blum is seeing “Visions,” coming on board to produce the thriller through his Blumhouse Prods. with “Saw 3D” director Kevin Greutert helming. Blumhouse bought Lucas Sussman’s spec script and is aiming for a fall start. Story, in the vein of “The Others” and “What Lies Beneath,” centers on a pregnant woman moving […]

  • Johnny Depp Amber Heard

    Johnny Depp, Amber Heard Appear Moments Apart at WB's Comic-Con Panel

    Micro-budget pioneer Jason Blum is seeing “Visions,” coming on board to produce the thriller through his Blumhouse Prods. with “Saw 3D” director Kevin Greutert helming. Blumhouse bought Lucas Sussman’s spec script and is aiming for a fall start. Story, in the vein of “The Others” and “What Lies Beneath,” centers on a pregnant woman moving […]

  • Patty Jenkins, Chris Pine and Gal

    'Wonder Woman 1984' Team Talks '80s Setting, Chris Pine's Resurrection

    Micro-budget pioneer Jason Blum is seeing “Visions,” coming on board to produce the thriller through his Blumhouse Prods. with “Saw 3D” director Kevin Greutert helming. Blumhouse bought Lucas Sussman’s spec script and is aiming for a fall start. Story, in the vein of “The Others” and “What Lies Beneath,” centers on a pregnant woman moving […]

  • Aquaman

    First 'Aquaman' Trailer Makes a Splash at Comic-Con

    Micro-budget pioneer Jason Blum is seeing “Visions,” coming on board to produce the thriller through his Blumhouse Prods. with “Saw 3D” director Kevin Greutert helming. Blumhouse bought Lucas Sussman’s spec script and is aiming for a fall start. Story, in the vein of “The Others” and “What Lies Beneath,” centers on a pregnant woman moving […]

  • 'Shazam!' Trailer Debuts At SDCC

    'Shazam!' Trailer Debuts At Comic-Con (Watch)

    Micro-budget pioneer Jason Blum is seeing “Visions,” coming on board to produce the thriller through his Blumhouse Prods. with “Saw 3D” director Kevin Greutert helming. Blumhouse bought Lucas Sussman’s spec script and is aiming for a fall start. Story, in the vein of “The Others” and “What Lies Beneath,” centers on a pregnant woman moving […]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content