The Producers Guild of America has tapped Ryan Coogler’s “Frutivale Station” as the recipient of its 2014 Stanley Kramer Award to honor films that illuminate social issues.

The award will be presented at the 25th Annual Producers Guild Awards ceremony on Jan. 19 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.

Coogler’s first feature-length film is based on the true story of Oscar Grant, who was killed by a BART police officer in Oakland on New Year’s Day in 2009.

The Kramer Award was established in 2002 to honor a production, producer or other individual whose achievement or contribution illuminates and raises public awareness of important social issues.

“’Frutivale Station’ is an important film that raises awareness about an injustice that we encounter in the news with grim regularity,” said awards co-chairs Lori McCreary and Michael De Luca. “First time writer/director Ryan Coogler has captured the hearts and minds of both audiences and critics with his poignant portrayal of the true story of Oscar Grant.”

Forest Whitaker and Nina Yang Bongiovi produced “Fruitvale Station.”

“We are very excited that ‘Fruitvale Station’ is being honored with the Stanley Kramer Award,” Whitaker said. “It is a testament to the director, the production team and the incredible efforts of the many talented people in our crew and cast who worked so hard because they believed in the message of this movie. Many thanks to the Producers Guild of America for this recognition. Our producing team is thrilled to have been able to tell a story that puts a human face on the issue of social injustice.”

Previous recipients of the Stanley Kramer Award include “The Great Debaters,” “An Incovenient Truth,” “Hotel Rwanda,” “Precious,” “In the Land of Blood and Honey” and “Bully.”

“Frutivale Station” won the Grand Jury Prize for dramatic feature and the Audience Award for U.S. dramatic film at Sundance. It has grossed $16 million in the U.S. following its release by The Weinstein Company.