Film Independent has tapped filmmaker Mary Sweeney (“The Straight Story”) as the new sitting chair of its board.

She replaces Bill Condon, who has served as chairman for the last three years while directing the final two “Twilight” films.

The exec committee includes Rodrigo García as vice chair, Alan Poul as secretary and the newly seated treasurer, Landmark Theatres CEO Ted Mundorff. Condon will remain on panel as as a member-at-large.

Sweeney has been involved in the organization’s film education programs and the Film Independent at LACMA Film Series. She’s been an editor and producer with David Lynch and is teaches screenwriting at USC, where she is the Dino and Martha De Laurentiis Endowed Professor at the School of Cinematic Arts.

Film Independent’s Spirit Awards are set for Feb. 23.

Current board includes Randy Barbato, Adriene Bowles, Effie T. Brown, Bill Condon, Laura Dern, DeVon Franklin, Sid Ganis, Rodrigo García, Vondie Curtis Hall, Michael Helfant, Marcus Hu, Laura Kim, Sue Kroll, Kasi Lemmons, David Linde, Allan Mayer, Ted Mundorff, Gail Mutrux, Tom Ortenberg, Alan Poul, Cathy Schulman, Mary Sweeney, Nancy Utley and Forest Whitaker.