You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

Deakins takes top prize for ‘Skyfall’ at ASC Awards

Dean Semler receives Lifetime Achievement Award

Roger Deakins took the top prize for his lensing of “Skyfall” at the 27th Annual American Society of Cinematographers Awards for Outstanding Achievement on Sunday night in the Grand Ballroom of Hollywood & Highland. It was Deakins’ third win from the organization, which bestowed its Lifetime Achievement Award to the Brit d.p. in 2011, and the first time a Bond film received such a distinction from the ASC or the Academy, which also nominated Deakins this past year for the 23th installment of the 007 franchise.

In the previous 26 years the ASC has been handing out awards, the Society has agreed with the Academy on the year’s best feature d.p. 10 times, a less than 40% success rate. Of the two orgs’ five nominees this year, the Acad differed from the ASC in once instance, favoring three-time Oscar winner Robert Richardson (“Django Unchained”) to ASC finalist Danny Cohen (“Les Misérables”). Also nabbing awards were Bradford Lipson for FX’s Wilfred (“Truth”) in the half-hour episodic series category; Florian Hoffmeister for the PBS’ “Great Expectations” in television movie/miniseries and not one but two winners in one-hour episodic television series:

Balazs Bolygo for Cinemax’s “Hunted” (“Mort”) and Kramer Morgenthau for HBO’s “Game of Thrones” (“The North Remembers”).

Receiving honorary awards were Aussie d.p. Dean Semler (“Dances with Wolves,” “Apocalypto”), who was given the ASC’s Lifetime Achievement Award by Angelina Jolie and left nobody out in his thanks from camera operators to grips to clappers; and Robby Müller, the Dutch master behind such films as “Paris, Texas” and “Dancer in the Dark” who was given the org’s International Achievement Award by actress Nastassja Kinski and director Steve McQueen.

In a tribute film to Müller, frequent collaborator Wim Wenders spoke of Müller’s affinity for the American painter Edward Hopper, and nominated d.p. Seamus McGarvey hailed the d.p.s “deceptive simplicity.”

Also honored for their body of work were Rodney Charters (Career Achievement in Television Award), who spoke longingly of the time when he could “listen to film chatter through the gate,” and Curtis Clark (President’s Award), who remains committed to the challengers “both chemical and digital.”

Popular on Variety

More Film

  • Cardi B

    Cardi B Joins Vin Diesel in 'Fast & Furious 9'

    Cardi B has joined the cast of Universal’s “Fast & Furious 9” in an undisclosed role. It’s the rapper’s first movie part since her role as the stripper Diamond in STX’s drama “Hustlers.” Vin Diesel disclosed the casting Tuesday in a post on his Instagram account with a video that showed him and Cardi B [...]

  • James Wan

    Film News Roundup: James Wan's Horror Thriller 'Malignant' Gets August Release

    In today’s film news roundup, James Wan’s “Malignant” gets a late-summer release, a Rita Hayworth documentary is shooting and Women in Animation have announced diversity awards winners. RELEASE DATE Warner Bros. has set an Aug. 14 release date for James Wan’s horror thriller “Malignant.” Wan will direct the movie, based on a story by Wan [...]

  • Michael Shannon Benedict Cumberbatch Tuppence Middleton

    How Martin Scorsese Saved 'Current War' From Harvey Weinstein

    Director Alfonso Gomez-Rejon finally gets to release his version of his long-in-the-making “The Current War.” The film, about the competition between Thomas Edison and George Westinghouse, was originally set to be distributed by the Weinstein Company after Harvey Weinstein recut it, much to Gomez-Rejon’s chagrin. To make matters worse, Weinstein premiered the movie at the [...]

  • 42west logo

    42West Co-CEO Allan Mayer Hospitalized After Car Accident

    42West Co-CEO Allan Mayer is in the hospital due to injuries from an Oct. 17 car accident, Variety has confirmed. The public relations firm described the crash as “serious” and said that he had surgery on Oct. 20 to help repair multiple broken bones. “Allan and his family thank everyone for the outpouring of love and [...]

  • Iron Man Martin Scorsese Francis Ford

    Directors vs. Marvel: A Breakdown of the Criticism

    Despite being the highest-grossing film franchise of all time, the Marvel Cinematic Universe has not been getting any love from critically renowned auteurs, like Martin Scorsese and Francis Ford Coppola. The Marvel pile-on started at the beginning of October and has impassioned many supporters and detractors to give their two cents on whether or not [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content