Alliance Films co-founder and former CEO Victor Loewy is one of eight Canuck game-changers receiving the Canadian Screen Awards’ first Academy Special Award, the Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television announced Monday.

Loewy, being recognized for his service to the film industry, and his fellow winners will be feted at the March 3 CSA gala.

“Victor Loewy has pioneered independent film distribution for over three decades through Vivafilm and Alliance and their operations across Canada and internationally as well,” commented Academy chair Martin Katz.

Other special award winners include Astral Media co-founder, prexy and CEO Ian Greenberg; the Imax Corp; screenwriter Heather Conkie (“Road to Avonlea,” “Heartland”); digital media champion Andra Sheffer; lifestyle broadcast trail-blazer Jeanne Beker; broadcast journalism pioneer Laurier Lapierre, and international hit TV series “Flashpoint.”

The Canadian Screen Awards replace the former Genie (film) and Gemini (TV) prizes administered by the Academy.