You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

Academy’s Science and Technology Council Adds Five Members

Academy governor Bill Kroyer and VFX pioneer Ray Feeney will co-chair the council of 25

Wendy Aylsworth, Rob Bredow, Douglas Greenfield, Rob Hummel and Bev Pasterczyk are the latest techies to join the Academy’s Science and Technology Council. Academy governor Bill Kroyer and VFX trailblazer Ray Feeney will co-chair the group of 25. The committee, which was established in 2003, acts as a forum for the exchange of new ideas. The group aims to preserve the history of science and tech in movies and inform the public about the role of technology in filmmaking.

Aylsworth, senior VP of technology for Warner Bros. Technical Operations, is the first female president of the Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers.

Bredow is chief technology officer and VFX supervisor at Sony Pictures Imageworks, Animation, Colorworks and Post Production. He created the studio’s open source initiative that recently released Open Shading Language and Alembic.

Greenfield, a 30-year industry vet, is senior director of content services at Dolby Laboratories.

VFX Oscar nominee Hummel is president of the digital media company Group 47. He’s served as senior VP of production technology at Warner Bros., worked at Disney Studios, DreamWorks and Sony.

Pasterczyk is the regional technical director for the Kodak Entertainment Imaging Division’s Americas region.