The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has selected nine screenwriters and one writing team to compete in this year’s Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting competition.

As many as five projects will receive the coveted $35,000 prize. Winners will be chosen by the fellowship committee and announced on Nov. 7 at a ceremony in Beverly Hills.

Of the record 7,251 scripts submitted this year, the finalists are:

Scott Adams, Menlo Park, CA, “Slingshot”
William Casey, Los Angeles, CA, “Smut”
Frank DeJohn & David Alton Hedges, Santa Ynez, CA, “Legion”
Brian Forrester, Studio City, CA, “Heart of the Monstyr”
Noah Thomas Grossman, Los Angeles, CA, “The Cupid Code”
Patty Jones, Vancouver, BC, Canada, “Joe Banks”
Erin KLG, New York, NY, “Lost Children”
Alan Roth, Suffern, NY, “Jersey City Story”
Stephanie Shannon, Los Angeles, CA, “Queen of Hearts”
Barbara Stepansky, Burbank, CA, “Sugar in My Veins”

Fellowships recipients will complete a feature-length screenplay within a year of winning the award.