Edinburgh Film Festival artistic director Chris Fujiwara is bringing back the audience award this year, after reintroducing the Michael Powell Award for best new British feature in 2012.

Both were killed by James Mullighan, who was artistic director for the heavily criticized 2011 edition.

Past winners of the audience award have included Gavin Hood’s “Tsotsi” and James Marsh’s “Man on Wire,” which both went on to win Oscars. The last audience award recipient was Aaron Schneider’s “Get Low.”

Fujiwara has also announced that French helmer Jean Gremillon will be the subject of a retrospective.

Gremillon worked in the silent and sound eras, and is known for some of the most highly regarded French films of the Nazi occupation in WWII. The retro will include “Stormy Waters,” “Summer Light” and “The Sky Is Yours.”

“Retrospectives can change people’s understanding of film history by shining the spotlight on artists who, for whatever reason, have been neglected and undervalued. Jean Gremillon is such a director,” said Fujiwara.