The Writers Guild of America East has tapped secretary-treasurer Bob Schneider as the recipient of this year’s Richard B. Jablow Award for service the guild.

The kudo will be presented by Susan Kim, who received the 2012 trophy, at the guild’s Feb. 17 awards ceremonies at B.B. King’s in Manhattan.

“As our current secretary-treasurer and past vice president and council member, Bob has been a stalwart, outspoken and effective defender of our union,” said WGA East president Michael Winship. “And as a trustee of the Writers Guild-Industry Health Fund and the Producers-Writers Guild of America Pension Plan, he has stood on the frontline protecting our members and insuring that they receive the care and protection they need. I can think of no more worthy recipient.”

Schneider joined the guild in 1988 and has been a trustee on the pension and health fund since 2005. He served as VP of the council for four years and been a member of the Constitution Review Committee, Screen Credits Review Committee and the Committee for an Informed Membership.'”

Schneider co-wrote the film “Normal Life” and has written for the TV series “Monsters” and the ABC Afterschool Special “Stood Up!”

Previous winners of the Jablow Award include Marianne Pryor, David Steven Cohen, Chris Albers & Tom Fontana, Catherine Twohill, Gail Lee, Warren Leight and John Auerbach.