You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

WGA announces award nominations

Guild unveils original, adapted screenplay selections

Opting for a mix of mainstream and specialty titles, members of the Writers Guild of America have nominated John Gatins for “Flight,” Rian Johnson for “Looper,” Paul Thomas Anderson for “The Master,” Wes Anderson and Roman Coppola for “Moonrise Kingdom” and Mark Boal for “Zero Dark Thirty” for the guild’s original screenplay award.

Noms for adaptations include Chris Terrio’s “Argo,” David Magee’s “Life of Pi,” Tony Kushner’s “Lincoln,” David O. Russell’s “Silver Linings Playbook” and Stephen Chbosky for “Perks of Being a Wallflower.”

Russell, who also directed “Playbook,” said, “I’m very proud to get this recognition from my peers because I was a writer long before I became a director. I spent five years working on the script.”

The WGA, which announced the noms Friday, will disclose the winners Feb. 17 in simultaneous ceremonies in Los Angeles and New York based on voting by the 12,000 guild members.

The noms were chosen from 112 eligible screenplays — 44 in the adapted category and 68 in the original category. Unlike other guilds, the WGA excludes scripts that were not produced under its jurisdiction or that of a foreign guild such as Quentin Tarantino’s “Django Unchained” and William Nicholson’s “Les Miserables.”

Other notable WGA exclusions include The Impossible,” “Beasts of the Southern Wild,” “Anna Karenina” and “The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel.”

Golden Globe nominations for screenplay went to “Argo,” “Django Unchained,” “Lincoln,” “Silver Linings Playbook” and “Zero Dark Thirty”

Even with guild exclusions, the WGA Awards have been a fairly reliable indicator for Oscar winners in the writing categories. Woody Allen won the Oscar last year for “Midnight in Paris” in the original category, in which the WGA award and Oscars had matched in 12 of the past 18 years. Alexander Payne, Nat Faxon and Jim Rash won the adapted screenplay Award for “The Descendants,” with category winners matching in 13 of the last 18 years.

The Oscar noms will be unveiled Thursday. The writers branch composes about 7% of the Academy’s voting membership, or 401 of 6,378.

High-profile original screenplays that were eligible but not nominated include David Chase’s “Not Fade Away,” Woody Allen’s “To Rome with Love” and Matt Damon-John Krasinsky’s “Promised Land.”

Allen has won the WGA award five times.

Notable adaptations that were eligible include Jonathan Nolan and Christopher Nolan’s “The Dark Knight Rises,” Judd Apatow’s “This Is 40” and Peter Jackson-Phillipa Boyens’ “The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey.”

Three of the six docs nominated —

Kirby Dick’s “The Invisible War,” Alex Gibney’s “Mea Maxima Culpa: Silence in the House of God,” and Malik Bendejelloul’s “Searching for Sugar Man” — have been shortilisted for the Oscar,

Ken Burns’ “Central Park Five” also received a WGA nod as did

“We Are Legion: The Story of the Hacktivists”by Brian Knappenberger and “West of Memphis,” written by Amy Berg & Billy McMillin.

More Scene

  • Atmosphere91st Annual Academy Awards, Governors Ball

    Inside the 2019 Oscar Parties

    Stars party all around Hollywood before, during, and after the Oscars. Here, Variety hits the town to give you the inside scoop on all the star-studded soirées. Keep checking back throughout the weekend for the latest updates… Icon Mann Power 150 Dinner Waldorf Astoria, Beverly Hills, Feb. 21 The Icon Mann Power 150 Dinner and [...]

  • Speaker of the United States House

    Nancy Pelosi, Ava DuVernay Honored at VH1 Trailblazers Event

    Cher is feeling a little better about what’s happening in Washington, D.C. “When I see Trump spew his hate and tell his gazillion lies, I get pissed off and feel uneasy at the same time,” the Oscar winner and frequent Trump critic said Wednesday while introducing Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi at VH1 Trailblazers [...]

  • Karl Lagerfeld'Lagerfeld Confidential' Photocall at the

    Karl Lagerfeld Remembered at Costume Designers Guild Awards

    The death of fashion and costume designer Karl Lagerfeld cast somewhat of a shadow over the usually jubilant Costume Designers Guild Awards — the only award show where clothes literally steal the spotlight away from actors — which was held at the Beverly Hilton on Tuesday night. Here it was obvious that Lagerfeld’s impact on [...]

  • Kate Bosworth'Nona' film premiere, New York,

    Kate Bosworth Helps Launch Campaign for Female Filmmakers

    In her 20-year career in Hollywood, Kate Bosworth has starred in blockbusters like “Superman Returns” as well as indie darlings like 2014’s “Still Alice.” But the actress has always had a desire to get more involved from the ground up. Now, she is partnering with Women In Film and Chloe Wine Collection to launch the [...]

  • Amandla Stenberg and Sofia CarsonVanity Fair

    Oscar Week Kicks Off With Vanity Fair's New Hollywood Party

    The night was definitely still young Tuesday at Vanity Fair’s New Hollywood party in Los Angeles. The magazine kicked off Oscar week with a party — the first of its three-event Campaign Hollywood series — at Ysabel in West Hollywood to celebrate new and emerging talent. Co-hosted by Yalitza Aparicio, Henry Golding and Amandla Stenberg [...]

  • Oscars Ultimate Party Guide

    Oscars Ultimate Party Guide 2019

    Welcome to Oscar week. It’s the time of year when Hollywood’s film industry celebrates all things movies. But it’s certainly not just the big show everyone is looking forward to. With voting closed, it’s all about the parties now. Who’s doing what and where and when are they doing it are the questions everyone is [...]

  • Yalitza AparicioTeen Vogue Young Hollywood Party,

    'Roma' Star Yalitza Aparicio, 'Central Park Five's' Jharrel Jerome Sound Off on Trump

    Yalitza Aparicio recently reunited with Alfonso Cuarón, who directed her in “Roma,” for a W magazine photo project that featured her standing at various barriers built at the border between Mexico and the United States. The message? “You can make a name for yourself despite the differences,” Aparicio told Variety on Friday at Teen Vogue’s Young [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content