You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

Tarantino, Terrio Take Scribe Oscars

Quentin Tarantino won his second Oscar for “Django Unchained,” nearly two decades after winning for “Pulp Fiction,” while Chris Terrio won the adapted screenplay category for “Argo.”

An exuberant Tarantino credited his cast with the victory, asserting that what people will remember is the characters he created and cast. “Boy, did I get it right,” he added.

Tarantino’s screenplay won over “Amour,” “Flight,” “Moonrise Kingdom” and “Zero Dark Thirty.” Tarantino also said that he was pleased to win in a year of “fantastic” writing.

Terrio’s screenplay was based on Joshua Bearman’s 2007 Wired magazine article entitled “The Canadian Caper.” A deeply moved Terrio singled out Ben Affleck, noting that Affleck had won a screenwriting Oscar 15 years ago for “Good Will Hunting,” saying, “It’s a gift I can never repay.”

Terrio also dedicated the award to Tony Mendez, the CIA spy who extricated the six American Embassy workers from Tehran in 1980. Terrio also won the screenplay award a week ago from the Writers Guild of America.

Popular on Variety

More Film

  • Alexander Skarsgard in the front rowGiorgio

    Film News Roundup: Alexander Skarsgard Joins 'Passing' With Tessa Thompson

    In today’s film news roundup, Taryn Manning, Shane West and Alexander Skarsgård have new roles, and Warner Bros. unveils a modernized logo. CASTINGS Alexander Skarsgård has signed on to join Tessa Thompson, Ruth Negga and André Holland in “Passing.” The film marks Rebecca Hall’s directorial debut and is based on a screenplay that Hall adapted [...]

  • Spike Lee

    Spike Lee to Direct Hip-Hop Love Story 'Prince of Cats'

    Spike Lee will direct a big-screen version of the hip-hop love story “Prince of Cats,” based on Ron Wimberly’s graphic novel. Legendary has been developing the project with Janet and Kate Zucker of Zucker Productions. Lee, who won the Academy Award for adapted screenplay for “BlacKkKlansman,” will also re-write the “Prince of Cats” script with [...]

  • DOLEMITE IS MY NAME!, 2019, DOL_Unit_06284.RAF

    'Dolemite Is My Name' Writer Larry Karaszewski Recalls 10-Year Journey to Make Rudy Ray Moore Biopic

    “Harriet” writer-director Kasi Lemmons was in a reflective mood at Tuesday night’s “Behind the Scene” event at the Formosa Cafe in West Hollywood, sponsored by the Writers Guild of America West. The biopic, starring Cynthia Erivo as slave-turned-abolitionist Harriet Tubman, has been receiving buzz since its premiere at the Toronto International Film Festival. It’s Lemmons’ [...]

  • Writers vs Agents Packaging War WGA

    Abrams Artists Agency Signs Writers Guild Deal

    In a major triumph for the Writers Guild of America, the Abrams Artists Agency has signed the WGA’s Code of Conduct, allowing the agency to return to representing WGA members again. Chairman Adam Bold made the announcement Wednesday, saying that the agency wants to put its clients back to work. He also noted WGA West [...]

  • Taika Waititi and Roman Griffin Davis

    Holocaust Experts Debate 'Jojo Rabbit' at Museum of Tolerance Screening

    With its comedic, cartoonish portrayal of Nazis, Taika Waititi’s satirical Hitler youth tale “Jojo Rabbit” has polarized critics and audiences alike. And that division continued to be stirred at Tuesday night’s screening of the film at the Museum of Tolerance in Los Angeles, where Liebe Geft, director of the museum, moderated a heated panel discussion [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content