The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences is now accepting entries
for the 40th Anniversary Student Academy Awards
, in the categories of alternative, animation, narrative, documentary and foreign. . 
Gold, Silver and Bronze Medal awards, along with cash prizes, may be presented
to student filmmakers in the following categories:  Alternative,
Animation, Narrative, Documentary and Foreign Student Film.  The awards presentation will be June 8; more information can be found here.

Past winners have gone on to receive 43 Oscar nominations and have
won or shared eight awards, the Academy says.  They include Pete Docter (1992), John
Lasseter (1979 and 1980), Spike Lee (1983), Trey Parker (1993) and Robert
Zemeckis (1975).

In addition, AMPAS announced its first foray into the Sundance Film Festival.  As part of the Academy Conversations series, AMPAS and the Blackhouse Foundation will present a conversation with film producer Will Packer on Saturday at Buona Vita in Park City.

The conversation will be followed by an Academy presentation and
reception at 5:30 p.m. addressing such initiatives as Awards
qualification rules, filmmaker engagement, educational programs,
festival grants and membership.