You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

‘Silver Linings Playbook’ Tops Spirit Awards

In a year where several Spirit nominees were also Oscar-nommed, “Silver Linings Playbook” dominated the Film Independent Spirit Awards, taking best feature and lead actress for Jennifer Lawrence with David O. Russell winning trophies for best director and screenplay.

The Sessions” scored a best actor win for John Hawkes and a supporting actress victory for Helen Hunt. Hawkes defeated a field that included Bradley Cooper for “Silver Linings,” the only Spirits nomination that “Silver” didn’t win Saturday afternoon.“Silver” topped “Beasts of the Southern Wild,” “Bernie,” “Moonrise Kingdom” and “Keep the Lights On” for the feature award.

“This is major,” said Russell in his acceptance speech, noting that he won the Spirits’ best first feature laurel in 1994 for “Spanking the Monkey.”“Silver Linings” was made for about $20 million, the high end of Film Independent’s limit for Spirit Awards consideration.Lawrence, who’s also nommed for an Oscar for her role as Tiffany, gave a short, low-key acceptance on winning, “David, thank you for writing the script, for Tiffany and for challenging me.”Hawkes credited director Ben Lewin for his best actor prize for “The Sessions.” “Ben Lewin is an amazing storyteller,” said Hawkes “I am glad he took a chance on me.”Hunt said it was a “miracle” that Lewin was able to get “Sessions” made.

“I got to dance with the sexiest dance partner ever, even though he never moved — John Hawkes,” said Hunt.

Matthew McConaughey won the best supporting actor trophy for his turn as a stripper-turned-strip club owner in “Magic Mike.”

“I had to take my pants off to win a trophy,” McConaughey sang as he began his acceptance speech.

In the press tent, he said, “I needed to play this straight to make this work. It had to be played dead serious.”

“Amour” took home the prize for best international film and “Starlet” nabbed the Robert Altman Award.

First prize of the event went to Derek Connolly for best first screenplay on “Safety Not Guaranteed.” Stephen Chbosky won for first feature for “The Perks of Being a Wallflower.” Chbosky said in the press tent that he’d had a “wonderful, surreal” moment when he met musician Morrissey on Friday and received praise about the film.

Kirby Dick’s “Invisible War,”about sexual assault in the military, won the documentary prize.

Emcee Andy Samberg’s opening was well-received at the event, which was held at its usual location in a Santa Monica beachside tent.

Complete list of winners:

BEST FEATURE:Silver Linings Playbook
BEST ACTOR: John Hawkes – “The Sessions”
BEST ACTRESS: Jennifer Lawrence – “Silver Linings Playbook
BEST DIRECTOR: David O. Russell – “Silver Linings Playbook
BEST SCREENPLAY: “Silver Linings Playbook” – David O. Russell
BEST CINEMATOGRAPHY: Ben Richardson – “Beasts of the Southern Wild”
BEST SUPPORTING FEMALE: Helen Hunt – “The Sessions”
JOHN CASSAVETES AWARD: “Middle of Nowhere”
BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR: Matthew McConaughey – “Magic Mike”
FIRST FEATURE: “The Perks of Being a Wallflower” – Director: Stephen Chbosky
FIRST SCREENPLAY: Derek Connolly – “Safety Not Guaranteed”
PIAGET PRODUCERS AWARD: Mynette Louie – “California Solo”
SOMEONE TO WATCH AWARD: Adam Leon – “Gimme the Loot

Popular on Variety

More Film

  • Angelina Jolie is Maleficent in Disney’s

    Box Office: 'Maleficent: Mistress of Evil' Dominates With Soft $36 Million

    Five years after Angelina Jolie’s “Maleficent” cast a spell over the box office, the villainous enchantress has returned to the top of domestic charts. Disney’s “Maleficent: Mistress of Evil,” a sequel to 2014’s fantasy adventure based on the “Sleeping Beauty” sorceress, debuted to a disappointing $36 million from 2,790 North American theaters, nearly half of [...]

  • MIA Wrap

    Rome MIA Market Wraps With Stronger U.S. Presence, Boosts Italy's Industry Standing

    Rome’s MIA market for TV series, feature films and documentaries wrapped positively Sunday with organizers boasting a bump in attendance just as some 2,500 executives departed in an upbeat mood after four days of dealmaking and presentations of mostly European fresh product, which elevated Italy’s global standing in the industry, especially within the TV sector. [...]

  • Film Republic Adds Further Sales for

    Film Republic Inks Further Deals for 'God of the Piano' (EXCLUSIVE)

    Sales agent Film Republic has closed further territory sales on “God of the Piano.” Film Movement previously picked up North American rights to the film, as reported exclusively by Variety. Mont Blanc Cinema has taken the rights for Argentina, Chile, Uruguay and Paraguay. Limelight Distribution is looking after the Australian and New Zealand releases, Hualu [...]

  • ‘Bears Famous Invasion’s Lorenzo Mattotti Brings

    Lorenzo Mattotti on MIA Title ‘Bears Famous Invasion of Sicily’

    Illustrator Lorenzo Mattotti is no stranger to film festivals. The artist – a long-time New Yorker cover artist and onetime Lou Reed and Michelangelo Antonioni collaborator – has designed posters for past editions of Venice and Cannes, and has contributed to films that played in Toronto and Rome. This year, however, he experienced the festival [...]

  • Dreamworks Abominable

    'Abominable' Release in Malaysia Abandoned

    Plans to release the increasingly controversial Chinese-U.S. co-produced animation film “Abominable” in Malaysia have been dropped after the distributor said that it would not be cut to cater to political sensitivities. The film includes a scene which depicts a map showing the South China Sea and the so called “nine-dash line” that China uses to [...]

  • Hui He

    RAI Com Takes World Sales on Italy/China Doc About Star Soprano Hui He (EXCLUSIVE)

    Italy’s RAI Com has taken world sales on high-profile documentary “Hui He, the Soprano From the Silk Road,” which is about the personal and artistic journey of one of the world’s leading sopranos and also marks a milestone Italian-Chinese co-production. Hui He was born and trained as a singer in the Chinese city of Xi’an, [...]

  • Bruce Springsteen arrives for the New

    Bruce Springsteen Returns to NJ Hometown for Surprise 'Western Stars' Introduction

    Bruce Springsteen returned to his hometown of Freehold, New Jersey to offer a surprise introduction to the first public multiplex viewing of his concert/documentary film, “Western Stars.” Dressed simply in a brown jacket, Springsteen took a moment to say a few words at the AMC Freehold 14 movie theater on Saturday night. “We knew we [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content