UCLA student Rocco Pucillo has won the top prize at the 58th annual Samuel Goldwyn Writing Awards for his script “Inspector Sun and the Curse of the Black Widow.”

The first place prize, which includes a $15,000 award, was announced Monday by Samuel Goldwyn Jr. (pictured above with Teri Schwartz, Dean of UCLA’s School of Theater, Film and Television). He’s president of The Samuel Goldwyn Foundation.

Second Prize went to Jared Robbins of UC Riverside for “Farang.” There was a three-way tie for third between Jeffrey Baker of UCLA for “Dr. Acker’s English Elixir”; Sean Harrigan of UC Irvine for “Dust Red” and Turner Hay of UCLA for “Broken Grey.”

Judges were Pete Hammond of Deadline Hollywood; Jennifer O’Kieffe, writer and Samuel Goldwyn Award Winner from 2007; and Tom Rothman, Chairman of TriStar Productions.

The Goldwyn Award has also been won by Francis Ford Coppola, Allison Anders, Pamela Gray, Colin Higgins, Eric Roth and novelist Jonathan Kellerman. Former winners have written more than 300 films, television series and made-for-TV movies.