You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

Film Academy Names 10 New Governors

Female membership on board hits 30%

Documentary director Alex Gibney is among the 10 new additions elected to the Board of Governors of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences.

Gibney, representing the documentary branch and succeeding the outspoken Michael Moore, will be joined by fellow first-timers Judianna Makovsky and Deborah Nadoolman (costume designers), Rick Carter and Jan Pascale (designers), Lynzee Klingman (film editors), Amy Pascal (executives), Kathryn Blondell and Bill Corso (makeup artists and hairstylists) and Nancy Utley (public relations).

“Amy I know is thrilled,” Academy prexy Hawk Koch told Variety. “She’s the first female executive branch governor since Mary Pickford, only the second one in history.”

Reelected to governor positions are Ed Begley Jr. (actors), John Bailey (cinematographers), Kathryn Bigelow (directors), Charles Fox (music), Jon Bloom (short films and feature animation), Curt Behlmer (sound), Richard Edlund (visual effects) and Robin Swicord (writers). In addition, Mark Johnson of the producers branch is returning to the board after a hiatus.

A total of 48 members now serve on the board — three each for the Academy’s 16 branches — including the most recently created one, costume designers.  Representation for the makeup artists and hairstylists branch has increased from one governor to three.

“There are 14 women now — the most we ever had before was nine,” Koch said. “Almost 30% of our board is women.”

Koch added that the Academy a record voter turnout for the board vote, which he cited as further evidence of increased member engagement — something the org has increased focus on in the past year. In June, AMPAS invited 276 people to join the overall Academy membership, 100 more than the previous year.

Continuing their ongoing terms on the Academy board are Annette Bening and Tom Hanks (actors), Jim Bissell (designers), Richard P. Crudo and Dante Spinotti (cinematographers), Jeffrey Kurland (costume designers), Lisa Cholodenko and Michael Mann (directors), Michael Apted and Rob Epstein (documentary), Dick Cook and Robert Rehme (executives), Mark L. Goldblatt and Michael Tronick (film editors), Leonard Engelman (makeup artists and hairstylists), Arthur Hamilton and David L. Newman (music), Gale Anne Hurd and Kathleen Kennedy (producers), Cheryl Boone Isaacs and Rob Friedman (public relations), Bill Kroyer and John Lasseter (short films and feature animation), Don Hall and Scott Millan (sound), Craig Barron and John Knoll (visual effects) and Bill Condon and Phil Robinson (writers).

The elections come approximately two weeks before the Academy board meeting that will elect a new president to succeed Koch, who will step down because of term limits. Friedman, the 2012-13 board treasurer, and Boone Isaacs, currently first vice president, are among the leading contenders.

In 2012, the Academy elected six new governors to its board — Cholodenko, Condon, Cook, Knoll, Millan and Spinotti — with several others reelected or returning after a hiatus.

Outgoing governors include Rosemary Brandenburg (designers), Anne V. Coates (film editors), Jim Gianopulos (executives), Marvin Levy (public relations), Moore and Koch (producers). In addition to Koch, the departure of Moore, who has not been shy about expressing his opinions of the eligibility criteria for the documentary Oscar, will be particularly noteworthy.

Popular on Variety

More Film

  • The Great Outdoor documentary series about

    Farm to Picture: Documentary Series 'The Great Outdoor' Chronicles a Life Gone to Pot

    Cannabis cultivation in the Emerald Triangle, the area in Northern California that has long been a go-to for growers, has a starring role in a new documentary series called “The Great Outdoor.” Funded by Flow Kana, one of the state’s leading cannabis flower brands, filmed by David Zlutnick, and executive-produced by Flow Kana co-founder Flavia [...]

  • 1982 El Gouna Festival

    Egypt's El Gouna Film Festival Puts Arab Helmers at Center Stage

    The upbeat state of Arab cinema will be on the screen and in the balmy air at Egypt’s El Gouna Film Festival (Sept. 19-27), which is steadily gaining traction in its stated ambition to become a key platform and solid driver for Middle-East producers. “This year was one the best for Arab cinema,” says Intishal [...]

  • Star Skipper Paramount Animation

    Meet Star Skipper, Paramount Animation's Magical New Trademark Logo Character

    Studio logos are powerful signals to audiences.  Multiple generations of moviegoers flipping through channels or scanning streaming titles have frozen at the sight of a desk lamp hopping across the screen, because it means a Pixar movie is about to play. Likewise, when a young boy lounging inside a crescent moon casts his fishing line into [...]

  • Sybil

    Cannes Competition Movie 'Sibyl' Finds North American Home With Music Box (EXCLUSIVE)

    Music Box Films has acquired the U.S. and Canadian rights to Justine Triet’s darkly comic drama “Sibyl,” which competed at Cannes and had its North American premiere at Toronto in the Special Presentation section. Represented in international markets by mk2, the film follows the ambiguous relationship between Sibyl, a jaded psychotherapist (Virginie Efira, “An Impossible [...]

  • Kent Jones Directs 'Diane'

    Kent Jones to Exit New York Film Festival (EXCLUSIVE)

    In a surprise move, New York Film Festival’s director and selection committee chair of seven years Kent Jones will step down following this year’s 57th edition, which runs Sept. 27-Oct. 13. The departure comes as Jones’ feature filmmaking career is taking off. Issues of potential conflicts of interest have arisen as his work has moved [...]

  • Ava-Mark-Split

    Ava DuVernay, Mark Ruffalo Selected for SAG-AFTRA Foundation Honors

    Ava DuVernay and Mark Ruffalo have been selected by the SAG-AFTRA Foundation for its fourth Annual Patron of the Artists Awards. The awards will be presented on Nov. 7 at the Wallis Annenberg Center for the Performing Arts in Beverly Hills. The show benefits the nonprofit SAG-AFTRA Foundation and is not televised. Previous SAG-AFTRA Foundation Patron of the [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content