Awards Briefs: George Clooney, Key & Peele, ‘Frontline,’ SAG

Clooney to receive Stanley Kubrick Award at Britannias

George Clooney will be honored by BAFTA Los Angeles at the Nov. 9 Britannia Awards with the Stanley Kubrick Award for Excellence in Film.

Clooney, who is directing, starring in and scripting December release “The Monuments Men,” will receive the award at the annual ceremony, taking place at the Beverly Hilton. The ceremony will air Nov. 10 on BBC America as a two-hour special.

Daniel Day-Lewis received the Kubrick honor in 2012, en route to an Oscar for “Lincoln” the following February. Day-Lewis delivered the night’s most memorable moment, accepting his award alongside his own version of Clint Eastwood’s Obama chair.

* * *

Comedy Central stars Keegan-Michael Key and Jordan Peele of “Key & Peele” will host the 29th annual Television Critics Assn. Awards on Aug. 3 at the Beverly Hilton.

Nominations for the TCAs were announced in June. The non-televised ceremony takes place during the summer TCA press tour. Bryan Cranston hosted last year’s event.

* * *

Frontline” exec producer David Fanning will receive the lifetime achievement award from the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences at the 34th Annual News and Documentary Emmy Awards, to be held Oct. 1 at Rose Hall in New York’s Lincoln Center.

Fanning has shepherded “Frontline” since its 1983 premiere. The program has produced more than 530 films.

* * *

Submissions for the 20th annual Screen Actors Guild Awards have begun being accepted online at sagawards.org/submissions. The submissions deadline is Oct. 24.

Nominations will be announced Dec. 11 for the Jan. 18 ceremony. Rules and regulations for the kudos can be found at www.sagawards.org/rules.

More Film

  • ‘On the Record’: Film Review

    'On the Record': Film Review

    “On the Record,” a documentary that presents the former music executive Drew Dixon’s accusations of sexual harassment and rape against the hip-hop mogul Russell Simmons (it includes several other Simmons accusers as well), is the fourth major documentary of the #MeToo era to offer an incendiary indictment of men who have used their power within [...]

  • Pain and Glory

    Pedro Almodóvar’s ‘Pain and Glory’ Sweeps Spanish Academy Goya Awards

    MADRID — Pedro Almodóvar’s “Pain and Glory” took home Best Picture, Best Director, Best Actor (Antonio Banderas) and Best Original Screenplay at the 34th Spanish Academy Goya Awards, as well as Best Editing, Original Music and Supporting Actress (Julieta Serrano). Almodóvar’s night did have one blemish, however. On the red carpet ahead of the ceremony [...]

  • Timmy Failure-Mistakes Were Made Disney Plus

    'Timmy Failure: Mistakes Were Made': Film Review

    The passive voice is crucial to the title of “Timmy Failure: Mistakes Were Made,” a Disney kid-detective caper with a clear enough moral: that owning your errors and apologizing for them is an essential part of growing up. If any individual mistakes have been made in the film itself, however, they’re as hard to pick [...]

  • Wander Darkly

    'Wander Darkly': Film Review

    Miserable parents Adrienne (Sienna Miller) and Matteo (Diego Luna) can’t afford therapy. Instead, Adrienne settles for a free Date Night, a casual party that only reminds the couple of their problems: his wish to regress to a slacker-style flophouse, her resentment that he’s never proposed, which has begun to curdle into a suspicion that they’re [...]

  • Mortal

    Saban Films Nabs U.S. Rights to André Øvredal Fantasy Thriller 'Mortal' (EXCLUSIVE)

    “Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark” director André Øvredal’s next adventure will see a U.S. rollout from Saban Films. “Mortal,” starring Nat Wolff, has sold domestic rights to the distributor In a deal brokered by Endeavor Content. TrustNordisk handled international rights. Saban president Bill Bromiley, currently on the ground at the Sundance Film Festival, [...]

  • Carey Mulligan poses for a portrait

    Carey Mulligan Suggests Oscar Voters Need to Prove They've Seen the Movies

    Carey Mulligan has made a conscious decision in recent years to collaborate with female directors, from Sarah Gavron (“Suffragette”) to Dee Rees (“Mudbound”). On Saturday night at the Sundance Film Festival, she’ll unveil “Promising Young Woman,” a thriller written and directed by Emerald Fennell, about a heroine out for revenge after experiencing a traumatic abuse. [...]

  • Andy SambergVariety Sundance Studio presented by

    Andy Samberg Calls Hosting the Oscars a 'Bad Gig' -- That He'd Still Consider

    Andy Samberg has been a reliable favorite hosting awards ceremonies, in recent years emceeing the Independent Spirit Awards, the Emmys and the 2019 Golden Globes with Sandra Oh. So it’s only natural to wonder if Samberg would consider taking the reins on the Oscars, which will return again this year without a host. “They have [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content