Argo” is the winner of the 25th annual USC Libraries Scripter Award.

Authors Joshuah Bearman and Antonio J. Mendez, who provided the source material, and screenwriter Chris Terrio received the honor at the event Saturday at USC’s Doheny Memorial Library. “Argo” director Ben Affleck starred as Mendez in the Oscar-nominated film.

Terrio based his adaptation on Mendez’s autobiographical work “The Master of Disguise” and Bearman’s Wired article “The Great Escape.”

A 41-member selection committee chose “Argo” from a field of 84 eligible films that had been whittled to six nominees that also included “Beasts of the Southern Wild,” “Life of Pi,” “Lincoln,” “The Perks of Being a Wallflower” and “Silver Linings Playbook”

USC Libraries additionally honored Larry McMurtry and Diana Ossana with their Literary Achievement Award for their body of work to date.