You will be redirected back to your article in seconds

‘Journey’ leads BAFTA games race

Telltale's 'Walking Dead' chases seven noms

LONDON — Adventure game “Journey” leads the noms for the BAFTA British Academy Games Awards, which were announced Tuesday.

Coming just two days after BAFTA celebrated its Film Awards the organization’s growing Games Awards noms recognize 53 games across 17 categories.

“Journey,” an adventure game developed by Thatgamecompany for PlayStation 3, scored eight noms, ahead of Telltale Games’ multi-platform role-player “The Walking Dead” with seven. Both received nods for best game, game design, story and original music. “Journey” also picked up noms in the artistic achievement, audio achievement, game innovation and online-multiplayer categories.

“The Walking Dead,” based on the Robert Kirkman comic-book series that also inspired the AMC skein of the same name, saw an additional nod in the mobile and handheld category and two noms for performers Dave Fennoy and Melissa Hutchinson. The voice actors will compete against Adrian Hough for “Assassin’s Creed III,” Danny Wallace for “Thomas Was Alone,” Nolan North for “Uncharted: Golden Abyss” and Nigel Carrington for “Dear Esther.”

“Dear Esther,” developed by thechineseroom, received five noms in total, including best debut game and British game. The inaugural British game category also features Playground Games’ “Forza Horizon,” TT Games’ “LEGO: The Lord of the Rings,” Criterion Games’ “Need for Speed: Most Wanted,” Fireproof Games’ “The Room” and Terry Cavanagh’s “Super Hexagon.”

Games receiving nods in the debut game category included Tequila Works’ “Deadlight,” Twisted Tree Games’ “Proteus” and Giant Sparrows’ “The Unfinished Swan,” alongside “Dear Esther,” “Forza Horizon” and “The Room,” which is based on the cult 2003 film of the same name.

Ubisoft’s best-selling first-person shooter “Far Cry 3” received six noms including best game, game design, story, action, artistic achievement and audio achievement. Ubisoft recently announced the game had sold 4.5 million copies.

Joining “Journey,” “Far Cry 3” and “The Walking Dead” in the best game category are Arkane Studios’ “Dishonored,” EA’s “FIFA ’13” and BioWare’s “Mass Effect 3.”

“The Room,” 343 Industries’ “Halo 4,” Gearbox Software’s “Borderlands 2” and Ubisoft’s “Assassin’s Creed III” all received four noms apiece.

The winners will be announced at the British Academy Games Awards at the London Hilton on March 5.

Popular on Variety

More Digital

  • Gabrielle Carteris

    SAG-AFTRA Urges Gavin Newsom to Sign Law Punishing 'Deep Fake' Videos

    SAG-AFTRA National Executive Director David White is urging Gov. Gavin Newsom to sign legislation that institutes penalties for nonconsensual digital sexually explicit videos, also known as “deep fakes.” The legislation, Assembly Bill 602, targets companies and individuals who create and distribute the videos in California without the consent of the individual being depicted. “We urge Gov. [...]

  • Facebook Portal logo

    Facebook Is Launching a Portal TV Device: Here’s What We Know

    Facebook is getting ready to launch a TV streaming device in time for the holiday season, Variety has been able to confirm with multiple sources familiar with the company’s plans. The new streaming hardware will be part of the company’s Portal family of devices, featuring a camera, and combining video chatting with TV viewing and [...]

  • MoviePass card

    MoviePass Shuts Down, With Parent Company Citing Failure to Raise Funds

    MoviePass, the long-struggling theater subscription service, finally appears to be down for the count. On Friday, MoviePass notified remaining subscribers that it would be shutting down the service effective Sept. 14, 2019, because “its efforts to recapitalize MoviePass have not been successful to date,” parent company Helios and Matheson Analytics announced. “The company is continuing [...]

  • Disney Plus - Full Lineup

    How to Browse the Disney Plus Catalog the Company Is Testing in the Netherlands

    Disney began testing its Disney Plus streaming service in the Netherlands this week. Consumers in the U.S. will have to wait until November 12 to get access to the service, but European streaming aggregator JustWatch already makes it possible to browse the catalog available during this beta test. JustWatch is one of a number of [...]

  • JoJo Siwa'The Angry Birds Movie 2'

    Nickelodeon Star JoJo Siwa Gets Her Own Dance-Tour Mobile Game (EXCLUSIVE)

    Fans of JoJo Siwa will be able to join the teen influencer’s dance squad on stage — virtually — in a new mobile game. In “JoJo Siwa — Live to Dance,” players will become part of the Nickelodon and YouTube star’s worldwide tour on her professional dance team and experience what it’s like to be [...]

More From Our Brands

Access exclusive content